Nominations – 2022 Australian Folk Music Awards Revealed

AFMA 2022 Nominations Announced

Australian Folk Music Awards 2022

Finalists Announced

People’s Choice Award Voting Open

Awards Presented 26 October Brunswick Ballroom, Melbourne

Folk Alliance Australia today announced that the panels of judges from around Australia have selected the following acts as the 2022 AFMA Finalists.

Traditional Folk Music Album of the Year  FINALISTS

  • Austral – Thylacine (Vic)
  • Broken Creek – Small Town Anthropologies (Vic)
  • The Lost Clog – The Sparrow Made Some Beer (Vic)
  • Sásta – Eirelocked (Qld)
  • Telenn Tri – Macquarie Street (SA)

Contemporary Folk Music Album of The Year  FINALISTS

  • Above the Bit – Above The Bit (Vic)
  • Charm of Finches – Wonderful Oblivion (Vic)
  • Michael Waugh  – The Cast (Vic)
  • Montgomery Church   – Where The Quiet Can Hide (NSW)
  • The Weeping Willows  – You Reap What You Sow (Vic)

Artist of the Year – Solo FINALISTS

  • Fred Smith (ACT)
  • Kaurna Cronin (SA)
  • Khristian Mizzi (Vic)
  • Lucy Wise (Vic)
  • Michael Waugh (Vic)

Artists of the Year Duo/Group/Ensemble FINALISTS

  • Austral (Vic)
  • Bush Gothic (Vic)
  • Charm of Finches (Vic)
  • Montgomery Church (NSW)
  • The Weeping Willows (Vic)

Instrumentalist of The Year FINALISTS

  • Andrew Vievers (Qld)
  • Justin Bernasconi (Vic)
  • Paddy Montgomery (Vic)
  • Rhys Crimmin (Vic)
  • Xani (Vic)

Youth Folk Artist of The Year 
(Award Recipient and Runner up to be announced

  • Anna & Jordan (Vic)
  • Ella & Sienna (SA)
  • Oceanique (WA)
  • Sadie Mustoe (Vic)
  • Sari Abbott (Qld)

Community/Cultural Project of the Year

  • Celtic Piping Spring Online Program (NSW)
  • Cresfest (Vic)
  • For Folk Sake (NSW)
  • Melbourne Tune Collection (Vic)
  • The Sparrow Made Some Beer (Vic)

AFMAs ‘Contribution to Folk’ Award

  • This Award Recipient(s) will be announced at the AFMAs Awards Night on 26 October

People’s Choice Award
There are fourteen finalists with the award winner to be determined by public voting 

VOTE NOW for your People’s Choice Australian folk act (One vote per individual email). Voting Closes midnight EST September 30.



  • Crystal Robins (NT)
  • Rebecca Moore (WA)
  • The Raglins (Vic)
  • The BordererS (SA)
  • Sionnach Rua’s Great Irish Song Book (Vic)
  • Joyce Prescher (Vic)
  • Hillbilly Goats (Qld)
  • Austral (Vic)
  • Kym Pitman (NSW)
  • Mick Coates & the Shallow Gravediggers (Vic)
  • Tuck Shop Ladies (Vic)
  • Sarah and Silas (Vic)
  • Nick Vulture (SA)
  • The Weeping Willows (Vic)


The Nine Award Recipients will be announced at the AFMAs Awards Night on Wednesday 26 October 7.30pm at the Brunswick Ballroom, Melbourne. Tickets on sale soon.

Listening Through The Lens will be there to cover the event. Read our wrap of the 2021 AFMAs.


More Music Adventures Await!

AFMA 2022 Nominations Announced


(Visited 318 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply