John Fullbright and The Liar

New Release John Fullbright

John Fullbright – Photo: LTTL

John Fullbright

First Album in Eight Years – ‘The Liar’

Out September 30

First came the astounding From The Ground Up (2012) and then the intense and sparse Songs (2014) and then…nothing until now. John Fullbright has a Grammy nomination, an Americana Music Association gong, plus recognition from ASCAP and the Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame, all in pretty short time. Why then the eight-year gap to his new LP The Liar (out September 30 via Blue Dirt Records and Thirty Tigers)?

“It’s been a process of learning how to be in a community of musicians and less focusing on the lone, depressed songwriter…just playing something that has a beat and is really fun. That’s not to say there are no songs on this record where I depart from that because there are, but there’s also a band with an opinion. And that part is new to me.” 

John Fullbright

Fullbright has released the first taste of The Liar with “Paranoid Heart”:

The Liar was recorded at Steve and Charlene Ripley’s farm-to-studio compound in northeastern Oklahoma. After Steve’s passing, Charlene flirted with the idea of selling the studio property, so Fullbright mobilized quickly to ensure he was able to record there before it changed hands. He threw together a band made up of, as Fullbright calls them, “the usual suspects.” Anyone fleetingly familiar with Oklahoma music will recognize the roster, which includes Jesse Aycock, Aaron Boehler, Paul Wilkes, Stephen Lee and Paddy Ryan, all of whom are in more bands than seems possible. Along with a few more friends stopping in to lay down takes, they finished the songs and tracked the album with engineer Jason Weinheimer in a whirlwind four days. 

“It was such a collaborative thing with some really cool voices,” Fullbright said, expressing surprise at the ease of the process. “It’s just like playing music in Tulsa. Everybody kind of does whatever they do, and it works.” 

The Liar – Tracklist:

1. Bearden, 1645

2. Paranoid Heart

3. Stars

4. The Liar

5. Unlocked Doors

6. Where We Belong

7. Social Skills

8. Lucky 

9. Blameless

10. Poster Child

11. Safe To Say

12. Gasoline 



More Music Adventures Await!

New Release John Fullbright


(Visited 303 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad


  1. I saw John–solo–open for Patti Griffin here a few months ago. He was good as always. So when he was coming back to KC shortly after I thought he’d be solo again and did not go. I was dismayed to learn that I’d missed him with Jesse, et al. That must have been a good show! I was in Tulsa last weekend (seeing the “best band in the land” again) and caught Jesse with Desi and Cody the next night. Jesse is so darn good…He’s keeping busy and I’m glad he was on this album supporting John.

    Post a Reply
    • The first time I saw him was at Americanafest and he was miffed that his show coincided with a Jimmy Webb gig he really wanted to go to. The last time was on Cayamo and that would’ve been 2018 I think. Yes, the band is sooo good. Can’t wait to hear the new album! Take care.

      Post a Reply

Leave a Reply