Above The Bit’s Evocative Tales

We Review Above the Bit’s Debut

Luke Watt and Nigel Wearne

Join Forces as ‘Above The Bit’

Self-titled Debut Out Now

A Seminal Folk Record – Vivid and Gritty

By Rob Dickens

Rustic folk singer-songwriters Nigel Wearne and Luke Watt unite to form Above The Bit and release their self-titled debut album. Twelve dark tales of Australia’s past – civil disobediance, struggle, mutiny, bravery and hardship – issued alongside National Reconciliation Week. (‘Above the bit’ refers to a horse’s head not in proper contact with the rider’s bit hence becoming uncontrollable).

Produced by Matt Walker of Melbourne’s Stovepipe Studios, the album features Wearne (lead vocals, guitar, banjo and pump organ), Watt (lead vocals, acoustic, electric-slide and resonator guitars) and a high-grade bunch of guests: Danny McKenna on drums, Steve Hadley on double bass, Mandy Connell and Walker on backing vocals and Corinn Strating on wood flute and whistle.

In a historically significant bush setting in the winter of 2017, Nigel and Luke spent three weeks exploring mutineer stories and how the motives behind them have shaped our nation.

The result is a set of powerful stories that set the benchmark for reflective and raw Australian folk music.

Above the Bit starts touring now (see link below).

Above The Bit Track Listing

1. The Devil’s Face

2. Walyer

3. Arthur Kelso’s Lament

4. Needle and the Fray

5. Ben Hughes on the High Seas

6. Ode to the Mutineer

7. V. O. C.

8. The Ballad of Sarah Skinner

9. The Interview

10. Wind of Realisation

11. Land of Equal Share

12. Exile

Via i hear django



More Music Adventures Await!

We Review Above the Bit’s Debut


(Visited 267 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply