International Folk Music Awards 2020

folk music award inductees and recipients

Ani DiFranco – Photo: LTTL

Folk Alliance International has announced this year’s International Folk Music Awards recipients and inductees. This includes Lifetime Achievement Awards, People’s Voice Award, the Clearwater AwardSpirit of Folk Award, and the Folk DJ Hall of Fame inductees.

Lifetime Achievement Awards
BeauSoleil (Living)
Mahalia Jackson (Legacy)
Preservation Hall (Business/Academic)
People’s Voice Award
Ani DiFranco
Clearwater Award
Spirit of Folk Awards
Jan Ramsey
Laura Hassler
Ellen Bello
Ake Lundstrom
Ephraim Bugumba
Ben Sandmel
Folk DJ Hall of Fame
Holger Peterson (CBC, CKUA – Edmonton, Canada)
Mary Katherine Aldin (past KPFK – Los Angeles, USA)
Nick Spitzer (PRX – New Orleans, USA)

Nominees for the member-voted Best Of categories will be announced in early January.

The Folk Alliance International Conference will be held 22 to 26 January 2020 in New Orleans, Louisiana. In this setting the themes will be celebrating places of collaboration and the shaping of new shared identities, art and forms of expression.  Conscious programming will explore the themes of diversity, inclusion, immigration, intersection, and influence, enabling each person to share their story (especially as folk artists).

You can read our take on the 2018 Conference HERE.

The gathering has many distinct components:

  • The International Folk Music Awards
  • The Conference and Exhibit Hall Thursday to Saturday, including keynote speakers
  • Official Showcases Thursday to Saturday evenings
  • Private Showcases Wednesday to Saturday (late night) and Thursday to Saturday (day)

Around 200 artists have been selected for the Official Showcases, with hundreds more delegates performing at some point during the week in the private showcases.  Many countries around the world will be represented.

The 2021 Conference will return to Kansas City, Missouri.


folk music award inductees and recipients

(Visited 333 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad


  1. There don’t seem to be any details of how to enter the awards.

    Post a Reply
    • Hi Susan. It looks like you need to be an FAI member to nominate award candidates (except for Best Of Awards) and you can do that bu logging on:

      Post a Reply

Leave a Reply