Jason Eady


Texas Singer/Songwriter Jason Eady’s Self-titled 2017 Released Reviewed

By Rob Dickens

On April 21 2017 Jason Eady returns with his first album in more than three years (via Thirty Tigers).  The self-titled release is the Mississippi-born, singer-songwriter’s sixth full-length collection.  He has a voice that belongs to the school of Merle Haggard and Willie Nelson, with a cadence, diction and resonance that leaps out from the speakers.

The album contains ten songs which rely on that voice and the strength of his songwriting.  The arrangements are classy but stripped back to spotlight the hard-edged grace of the material which sound, thankfully, more like a live band at a country dance than one with lavish production values.  The only electric instrument used was a steel guitar.

To add some sonic depth, the album features Vince Gill, Tammy Rogers (from driving bluegrass outfit The Steeldrivers) and wife, singer/songwriter Courtney Patton.  The result is a wonderfully engaging and consistent record.

Originally from the lower Mississippi delta, Eady has always been attracted to country music and has been performing since the age of fourteen.  A move to Nashville and then back to Jackson followed with him now playing a pivotal role in the Fort Worth Texas music scene.

Jason Eady is a follow-up to 2014’s well-received Daylight/Dark and again teams up with producer and talented singer/songwriter Kevin Welch.

Key tracks are ‘Barrabas’ (a wonderful tale of making the most of second chances), ‘No Genie In This Bottle’, the slow, bluesy ‘That’s Why I Left Atlanta’, the two-stepping, Texas swing of ‘Waiting To Shine’ and the reflective ’40 Years’.  In truth, tough, there is not one misstep here.

Jason Eady and his contemporary Sam Outlaw are bringing us some of the most refreshing and marquee country music around.  Totally recommended.


Watch the video for ‘Why I Left Atlanta’:


Jason Eady Tracklist:

1) Barabbas

2) Drive

3) Black Jesus

4) No Genie in This Bottle

5) Why I Left Atlanta

6) Rain

7) Where I’ve Been

8) Waiting to Shine

9) Not Too Loud

10) 40 Years


via Missing Piece



(Visited 247 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply