Americana Honors and Awards 2016

Read my look at the Americana Honors and Awards Show 2016


‘Will The Circle’ Finale

It proved again to be the musical highlight of the year.

The Americana Music Association’s Honors and Awards 2016 were held last night at the magnificent Ryman Auditorium.  It is my fourth consecutive time here and, frankly, there is no other event that I can recall that has so many terrific performers in one place showcasing their talent, either individually or in collaboration.

Jason Isbell won two awards and added to his impressive collection of tributes – Best Album and Best Song.  Chris Stapleton received Artist of the Year while Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell won for Best Group/Duo of the Year.  Margo Price was deemed Emerging Artist and Instrumentalist of the Year was Sara Watkins.

Woody Guthrie, Jim Lauderdale, Bob Weir, Billy Bragg, Shawn Colvin and William Bell all received Honors during the night.


Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires

Americana Music Honors & Awards 2016 Winners:
Album of the Year: Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, Produced by Dave Cobb
Artist of the Year: Chris Stapleton
Group/Duo of the Year: Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
Song of the Year: “24 Frames” Jason Isbell; Written by Jason Isbell
Emerging Artist of the Year: Margo Price
Instrumentalist of the Year: Sara Watkins
Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music
Association and the First Amendment Center: Billy Bragg
Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer: Shawn Colvin
Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting: William Bell
Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance: Bob Weir
Lifetime Achievement Award, WagonMaster: Jim Lauderdale
President’s Award: Woody Guthrie
Here’s how the magnificent night unfolded, performance by performance (apologies for a few gaps – it was a long night – help, corrections welcomed).
Alison Krauss, Buddy Miller and Stuart Duncan – Gloryland
Joe Henry – Freedom For The Stallion
Steve Earle – ‘Desperados Waiting For A Train’ (magnificent)
Bob Weir – ‘Mama Tried’
Nathaniel Rateliff and the Night Sweats – ‘Wasting Time’
Shawn Colvin – ‘Diamonds in the Rough’
Bonnie Raitt – ‘The Gypsy In Me’
Dwight Yoakam – ‘What I Don’t Know’
The Milk Carton Kids – ‘Memphis’
Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell – ‘Bring It On Home To Memphis’
Jason Isbell with Amanda Shires – ‘If It Takes a Lifetime’
Billy Bragg – ‘I Ain’t Got No Home’
John Moreland – ‘American Flags in Black & White’
The Lumineers – ?
Parker Millsap – ‘Heaven Sent’
William Bell – ‘The Three of Me’
Lucinda Williams – ‘Dust’
George Strait – ‘King of Broken Hearts’
All-star finale with The Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – ‘Will The Circle Be Unbroken’
Buddy Miller‘s All-Star Band included Dave Cobb, Stuart Duncan, Fred Eltringham, Matt Rollings, Steve Fishell, Chris Woods and The McCrary Sisters
Like to join me here next year?  Come on my tour!

Read my look at the Americana Honors and Awards Show 2016

Read my look at the Americana Honors and Awards Show 2016

(Visited 114 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply