Steep Canyon Rangers – Live at Greenfield Lake

New Music Steep Canyon Rangers

Steep Canyon Rangers – Photo: LTTL

Blue Chip Bluegrass Outfit The Steep Canyon Rangers

New Album ‘Live at Greenfield Lake’

Out 30 August 2024 via Yep Roc Records

Grammy Award-winning Steep Canyon Rangers have announced the August 30 release of Live at Greenfield Lake, the band’s first live album of original material, recorded at Greenfield Lake Amphitheatre in Wilmington, North Carolina on September 29, 2023. (The concert took place the week after LTTL saw their live show at AmericanaFest 2023).

The sixteen-track album is now available for pre-order on digital, CD and LP. It was mixed and pressed at the state-of-the-art audiophile facilities of Citizen Vinyl in the band’s hometown of Asheville, North Carolina, and lacquers were cut by renowned engineer Jeff Powell of Takeout Vinyl. Housed in a gatefold jacket, the first LP is pressed on deep purple colour vinyl and the second on yellow colour vinyl. (Read about our visit to Citizen Vinyl HERE).

Live at Greenfield Lake will be a perfect example of experiencing the band with its new lineup with Aaron Burdett stepping ably into the lead singer spot. The band’s live performance at AmericanaFest demonstrated their breadth of styles and genres and the new album will be a treat for their followers and other music lovers. 

This particular Greenfield Lake Amphitheatre show is an example of the kind of night that we all dream of as musicians: a beautiful setting, an enthusiastic crowd, and the band is absolutely on fire. While these performances do happen, it’s tough to get all of those elements at once. It’s like catching lightning in a bottle. But we did it on September 29 of 2023 and had the good fortune to get it all down on tape. Live SCR is the best SCR by far. Makes me happy and grateful every time I hear this recording.” 

Aaron Burdett

On May 17, the band will embark on a forty-one-date tour, beginning with Steve Martin and Martin Short and including shows at Red Rocks Amphitheatre, the Ryman Auditorium, a return to Greenfield Lake Amphitheatre and headlining IBMA’s festival. A complete list of dates is below via the link.

Torchbearers of Americana and bluegrass music, the Steep Canyon Rangers – Graham Sharp (banjo and vocals), Mike Guggino (mandolin, mandola and vocals), Aaron Burdett (guitar and vocals), Nicky Sanders (fiddle and vocals), Mike Ashworth (drums, dobro, guitar and vocals) and Barrett Smith (bass, guitar, and vocals) – have been making music for twenty-five years. Hailing from the Appalachian and Piedmont regions of North Carolina, over the past quarter-century, the outfit has gained recognition beyond the bluegrass world.

Over the band’s esteemed career, the three-time Grammy nominees have released fourteen studio albums, three collaborative albums with actor and banjoist Steve Martin, been inducted into the North Carolina Music Hall of Fame and appeared on some of music’s biggest stages.

Live at Greenfield Lake Tracklisting:

1. As I Go (Live)

2. Sweet Spot (Live)

3. Pennies on the Tracks (Live)

4. Recommend Me (Live)

5. Tell the Ones I Love > Chuck in the Bush > Tell the Ones I Love (Live)

6. Fare Thee Well, Carolina Gals (Live)

7. Alabama Calling (Live)

8. Above My Burdens (Live)

9. Can’t Get Home (Live)

10. Take My Mind (Live)

11. Morning Shift (Live)

12. Birds of Ohio (Live)

13. Afterglow (Live)

14. Second in Line (Junior) [Live]

15. Fruits of My Labor (Live)

16. Sunny Days (Live)



More Music Adventures Await!

New Music Steep Canyon Rangers


(Visited 33 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply