Rodney Crowell in Chicago

New Release Rodney Crowell

‘The Chicago Sessions’

Rodney Crowell’s New Album

Produced by Jeff Tweedy

Out May 5, 2023

Rodney Crowell will release The Chicago Sessions on May 5, 2023 via New West Records.  The ten-song set was produced by Jeff Tweedy and recorded by Tom Schick at Wilco’s Loft in Chicago. This interesting collaborative development follows Crowell’s 2021 album Triage and an exceptional string of releases showcasing this trail-blazing artist.

“The way that Rodney writes is deeply connected to a classic era of country songwriters that I’ve always loved. In my estimation, it’s as close as I can get to working with Townes Van Zandt or Felice and Boudleaux Bryant — people who crafted songs with a very specific sensibility. And I like being near that.” 

Jeff Tweedy

The album cover shows a very happy Crowell, which may be telling, coming from a singer/songwriter that has a very serious side and can be downright hard on himself.

“In a lot of ways, this album feels like that very first record to me. When my daughter suggested we lay the artwork out similarly, the connection made perfect sense. There’s something very simple, very innocent about it. It’s just me and the band in a room together, loose and live and having fun.”

Crowell has released the video for the album’s first single, “Everything at Once” which features footage recorded at The Loft during recording. The song is a co-write with Tweedy:

While most of The Chicago Sessions consists of newly written material, Crowell revisits two tracks from the 1970’s. “You’re Supposed to Be Feeling Good,” is a Crowell original first recorded by Emmylou Harris on her 1977 Luxury Liner record. While he had long intended to record it himself, the stars didn’t align until a new arrangement fell into place with Tweedy on guitar. The second revisited track, Townes Van Zandt’s “No Place to Fall,” had always held a special place in Crowell’s heart.

“The first time I heard that song, Townes was sitting across the table from me at Guy and Susanna Clark’s house. He said, ‘Hey, I’ve got a new song for you,’ and it’s been imprinted on my psyche ever since. I wanted to record it as an homage to somebody that I learned a lot about songwriting from.” 


Crowell brought three players with him to The Loft — guitarist Jedd Hughes, pianist Catherine Marx and bassist Zachariah Hickman, while enlisting Windy City natives John Perrine and Spencer Tweedy (Jeff’s son) to split drumming duties. Jeff Tweedy appears on vocals, guitars and banjo throughout. 

Rodney Crowell Back Story

Born and raised in Houston, he moved to Nashville in the early 1970’s, coming to prominence first as a writer before establishing himself as a critically acclaimed solo artist in his own right. Two Grammys, plus fifteen #1 songs on the country music charts throughout his career, with hits for Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson, George Strait, Tim McGraw and Keith Urban.

Other recognition includes an induction into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, Lifetime Achievement Award in Songwriting from the Americana Music Association, ASCAP’s prestigious Founder’s Award and Poet’s Award by the Academy of Country Music. In addition to his prolific output as a singer, songwriter and producer, he also published his memoir, Chinaberry Sidewalks and a lyrical retrospective, Word for Word.  

The Chicago Sessions Track Listing: 

1. Lucky
2. Somebody Loves You
3. Loving You Is the Only Way to Fly
4. You’re Supposed to Be Feeling Good
5. No Place to Fall
6. Oh Miss Claudia
7. Everything at Once (feat. Jeff Tweedy)  
8. Ever the Dark
9. Making Lovers Out of Friends
10. Ready to Move On



More Music Adventures Await!

New Release Rodney Crowell


(Visited 194 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: