2022 Australian Folk Music Awards Night

AFMA 2022 Recipients Announced

Khristian Mizzi – Photo: LTTL

Australian Folk Music Awards 2022

Recipients Announced

Awards Presented 26 October Brunswick Ballroom, Melbourne

Jim Jacob – Images

Rob Dickens – Words
Folk Alliance Australia Board Member John McAuslan – Photo: LTTL

It was a night where the Australian folk music community took a significant and oh-so-welcome step into the limelight.

In a country where music awards are the exception rather than the rule and in a music genre that eschews popularity for its own sake due to its deep roots in tradition, diversity and community, the second edition of the Australian Folk Music Awards (AFMAs) presented by Folk Alliance Australia was an unabashed success.

Judging by the size of the crowd, the number of artists, event organisers and managers on site and the hefty list of well-wishers from across the continent, this was a event to be cherished. Beautiful live performances on the night were from Charm Of Finches, Khristian Mizzi, Bush Gothic, Paddy Montgomery (with talented friends), Oceanique (their first performance outside Western Australia) and The Lost Clogs. The evening also had well-wishing and performance clips from around Australia (Fred Smith’s acknowledgement was wickedly dry). Fiona Ross and Derek Guille held the hosting reins very well and kept the night propelling along.


Traditional Folk Music Album of the Year

  • Austral – Thylacine (Vic) Award Recipient
  • Broken Creek – Small Town Anthropologies (Vic)
  • The Lost Clog – The Sparrow Made Some Beer (Vic)
  • Sásta – Eirelocked (Qld)
  • Telenn Tri – Macquarie Street (SA)

Contemporary Folk Music Album of The Year

  • Above the Bit – Above The Bit (Vic)
  • Charm of Finches – Wonderful Oblivion (Vic) Award Recipient
  • Michael Waugh  – The Cast (Vic)
  • Montgomery Church   – Where The Quiet Can Hide (NSW)
  • The Weeping Willows  – You Reap What You Sow (Vic)
Charm of Finches – Photo: LTTL

Artist of the Year – Solo

  • Fred Smith (ACT) Award Recipient
  • Kaurna Cronin (SA)
  • Khristian Mizzi (Vic)
  • Lucy Wise (Vic)
  • Michael Waugh (Vic)

Artists of the Year Duo/Group/Ensemble

  • Austral (Vic)
  • Bush Gothic (Vic) Award Recipient
  • Charm of Finches (Vic)
  • Montgomery Church (NSW)
  • The Weeping Willows (Vic)
Bush Gothic – Photo: LTTL

Instrumentalist of The Year

  • Andrew Vievers (Qld)
  • Justin Bernasconi (Vic)
  • Paddy Montgomery (Vic) Award Recipient
  • Rhys Crimmin (Vic)
  • Xani (Vic)
Paddy Montgomery – Photo: LTTL

Youth Folk Artist of The Year 

  • Anna & Jordan (Vic) Runner Up
  • Ella & Sienna (SA)
  • Oceanique (WA) Award Recipient
  • Sadie Mustoe (Vic)
  • Sari Abbott (Qld)
Oceanique – Photo: LTTL

Community/Cultural Project of the Year

  • Celtic Piping Spring Online Program (NSW)
  • Cresfest (Vic)
  • For Folk Sake (NSW)
  • Melbourne Tune Collection (Vic)
  • The Sparrow Made Some Beer by The Lost Clog (Vic) Award Recipient
The Lost Clog – Photo: LTTL

AFMAs ‘Contribution to Folk’ Award

  • Trad and Now magazine (Cec Buccello) Award Recipient

People’s Choice Award

  • Crystal Robins (NT)
  • Rebecca Moore (WA)
  • The Raglins (Vic)
  • The BordererS (SA)
  • Sionnach Rua’s Great Irish Song Book (Vic)
  • Joyce Prescher (Vic)
  • Hillbilly Goats (Qld) Award Recipient
  • Austral (Vic)
  • Kym Pitman (NSW)
  • Mick Coates & the Shallow Gravediggers (Vic)
  • Tuck Shop Ladies (Vic)
  • Sarah and Silas (Vic)
  • Nick Vulture (SA)
  • The Weeping Willows (Vic)
Hillbilly Goats – Photo: LTTL


More Music Adventures Await!

AFMA 2022 Recipients Announced


(Visited 713 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply