Lucero Should’ve Learned By Now!

New Music from Lucero

Photo: Jamie Harmon


New Song “One Last F.U.”

From Forthcoming Album ‘Should’ve Learned By Now’

Blazing Memphis rock/alt-country band Lucero have announced that their new album Should’ve Learned By Now will release on February 24 via Liberty & Lament/Thirty Tigers/Cooking Vinyl Australia. The band’s twelfth studio release finds them once again teaming up with acclaimed producer and Grammy Award-winning engineer/mixer Matt Ross-Spang. Along with the announcement, Lucero shares the punchy and striking new single “One Last F.U.”

“‘One Last F.U.’ is where this whole new record started. It’s a song that was too offensive and goofy to be on the last few Lucero albums. I was dating a girl a while back that lived on the West Coast and I remember thinking to myself ‘I ain’t gonna be here very long’ and that ended up being the first line of the chorus. The phrase ‘one last fuck you’ popped into my head one night later and bam I had a whole chorus. The rest of the song was simply about wanting to be left alone while I drank at the bar. That could be taken in a kind of grumpy/antagonistic way, but I feel okay singing the song because I’ve been both characters at different times. Sometimes I’m the one wanting to be left alone and sometimes I’m the drunk one blabbing all night to someone that just wants to be left alone.”

Singer and band leader Ben Nichols

Since forming in Memphis in the late 90’s, Lucero has evolved and embraced everything from Southern rock to Stax-inspired Memphis soul, while maintaining their distinctive sonic foundations of punchy driving rhythms and punk-rooted guitar licks.

The new album began its life as hardly more than some rough demos and lingering guitar parts – pieces that were left behind from Lucero’s previous excellent albums, Among the Ghosts (2018) and 2021’s When You Found Me (read our review), when they were deemed too up tempo and capering for thse albums’ darker themes.

“I had a particular sound I was looking for on each record and there was no room for any goofy rock and roll or cute witticisms or even simply upbeat songs. But now finally, it was time to revisit all of that stuff and get it out in the world. That’s how we got to the appropriately-for-us-titled album ‘Should’ve Learned by Now.’ The album is basically about how we know we are fuckups and I guess we are ok with that.”


Led by the gravelly voice of singer/songwriter Nichols, Lucero also features original members Brian Venable on guitar, Roy Berry on drums, John C. Stubblefield on bass and Rick Steff on keys. The group of Memphians has maintained a large and dedicated fanbase for over twenty years, delivering a rowdy and communal live experience that is equally as exhilarating in a dive bar as it is in amphitheatres. 

Should’ve Learned By Now Tracklist
1. One Last F.U.
2. Macon If We Make It
3. She Leads Me
4. At The Show
5. Nothing’s Alright
6. Raining For Weeks
7. Buy A Little Time
8. Should’ve Learned By Now
9. Drunken Moon
10. Time To Go Home



More Music Adventures Await!

New Music from Lucero


(Visited 227 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply