Emmylou Harris and the Nash Ramblers Live In Music City

Emmylou Harris Live Release

Emmylou Harris – Photo: LTTL

Emmylou Harris and the Nash Ramblers

1990 Live Recording Released – ‘Ramble in Music City: The Lost Concert

Out September 3, 2021

After fifteen years of touring with the Hot Band, Emmylou Harris formed the Nash Ramblers, a new acoustic all-star group in 1990, featuring Sam Bush (fiddle, mandolin, vocals), Roy Huskey Jr. (bass), Larry Atamanuik (drums), Al Perkins (dobro, banjo, vocals) and Jon Randall Stewart (acoustic guitar, mandolin, vocals).

The band played on the road for several months before making their Nashville debut at the Tennessee Performing Arts Centre (TPAC) on September 28, 1990. That concert was recorded and shelved, while another live run at the Ryman Auditorium months later was released At the Ryman to great acclaim, winning a Grammy and spurring public interest in saving the beloved music hall. Now, more than thirty years later, the 1990 TPAC recording has been unearthed and Ramble in Music City: The Lost Concert will be released by Nonesuch Records on September 3, 2021. The TPAC set features entirely different songs compared with the Ryman album and includes music by A.P. Carter, Rodney Crowell, Ruth Franks, the Louvin Brothers, Doc Pomus and Mort Shuman, Paul Simon and Townes Van Zandt, among others, as well as her own compositions (track list below).

 A video of Harris and the Nash Ramblers performing the album track “Roses in the Snow” on a 1993 Austin City Limits broadcast is below:

Harris says of Ramble in Music City:

“When James Austin, in my humble opinion, the world’s best and certainly most devoted music archaeologist, unearthed the tapes of this ‘lost’ concert, I was taken aback by their very existence, like finding some cherished photograph misplaced so long ago the captured moment had been forgotten. Then the memories came flooding in, of the Nash Ramblers, hot off the road from our first tour, ready to rock and bringing their usual A-game to the hometown turf.

It only took one listen to realize not a single note was out of place or in need of repair, a truly extraordinary performance by these gifted musicians. What a joy it was to share the stage with them.”

About Emmylou Harris

A thirteen-time Grammy winner and Billboard Century Award recipient, Emmylou Harris’ contribution as a singer and songwriter spans six decades. She has recorded more than thirty albums and has also contributed to countless fellow artists’ recordings. In recognition of her remarkable career, Harris was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2008. Her most recent new release, a collaboration with Rodney Crowell The Traveling Kind followed the long-time friends’ first duet album Old Yellow Moon, which won a Best Americana Album Grammy Award as well as two Americana Music Association Awards, for Album of the Year and Duo/Group of the Year.

Ramble in Music City: The Lost Concert (1990) Track List

1. Roses in the Snow – Ruth Franks
2. Even Cowgirls Get the Blues – Rodney Crowell
3. Beneath Still Waters – Dallas Frazier
4. If I Could Only Win Your Love – Charlie & Ira Louvin
5. Amarillo – Emmylou Harris/Rodney Crowell
6. The Other Side of Life – Alan O’Bryant
7. If I Needed You – Townes Van Zandt
8. Two More Bottles of Wine – Delbert McClinton
9. Mystery Train – Herman Parker
10. My Songbird – Jesse Winchester
11. Wayfaring Stranger – John Wyeth
12. Green Pastures – Traditional
13. Blue Kentucky Girl – Johnny Mullins
14. Hello Stranger – A.P. Carter
15. Remington Ride – Herb Remington
16. One of These Days – Earl Montgomery
17. The Boxer – Paul Simon
18. Born to Run – Paul Kennerley
19. The Price I Pay – Bill Parker Wildes/Christopher Hillman
20. Sweet Dreams – Don Gibson
21. Save the Last Dance for Me – Doc Pomus/Mort Shuman
22. Leaving Louisiana in the Broad Daylight – Rodney Crowell/Donovan Cowart
23. Boulder to Birmingham – Emmylou Harris/Bill Danoff




Emmylou Harris Live Release


(Visited 591 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: