Steve Earle Remembers Justin Townes Earle

Steve Earle releases JT

Steve Earle & The Dukes

New Album “J.T”

Out January 4, 2021

On the forthcoming album, J.T.Steve Earle & The Dukes pay tribute to Steve’s late son, Justin Townes Earle (J.T.), who passed away on August 20, 2020 in Nashville. The album will be released digitally on what would have been Justin’s  39th birthday, January 4, 2021, via New West Records. The CD and vinyl editions of the album will follow on March 19.

“The record is called J.T. because Justin was never called anything else until he was nearly grown. Well, when he was little, I called him Cowboy,” explains Steve Earle. “For better or worse, right or wrong, I loved Justin Townes Earle more than anything else on this earth. That being said, I made this record, like every other record I’ve ever made… for me. It was the only way I knew to say goodbye.”

Steve has shared the track “Harlem River Blues”, one of Justin’s best-known compositions and took Song of the Year honors at the 2011 Americana Music Awards ceremony following Justin’s win in the Emerging Artist of the Year category in 2009.

J.T. finds Steve Earle & The Dukes covering 10 of Justin’s songs – from “I Don’t Care,” which appeared on his 2007 debut EP, Yuma, and a trio of selections from his full-length debut album, The Good Life (“Ain’t Glad I’m Leaving,” “Far Away In Another Town” and “Lone Pine Hill”) to later compositions like 2017’s “Champagne Corolla” and 2019’s “The Saint Of Lost Causes,” which was the title track of Justin’s eighth and final studio album. J.T. closes with “Last Words” a song Steve wrote for Justin. See below for track listing.

All the artist advances and royalties from J.T. will be donated to a trust for Etta St. James Earle, the three-year-old daughter of Justin and Jenn Earle. The recording features the latest incarnation of Steve’s backing band, The Dukes – Chris Masterson on guitar, Eleanor Whitmore on fiddle and vocals, Ricky Ray Jackson on pedal steel, guitar & dobro, Brad Pemberton on drums & percussion and Jeff Hill on acoustic & electric bass.

Steve Earle – J.T.  Track Listing:

1.    I Don’t Care
2.    Ain’t Glad I’m Leaving
3.    Maria
4.    Far Away In Another Town
5.    They Killed John Henry
6.    Turn Out My Lights
7.    Lone Pine Hill
8.    Champagne Corolla
9.    The Saint Of Lost Causes
10. Harlem River Blues
11. Last Words




Steve Earle releases JT

(Visited 636 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply