Gillian Welch – Boots No. 2 Vol. 1

New outing Gillian Welch



Gillian Welch is to digitally release Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs, Vol. 1 on July 31 2020 via Acony Records, the independent record label she and partner David Rawlings founded in 2001.

The new collection contains home demos and reel-to-reel recordings and is the second release of archival music from the vault of the pair.  This new outing forms part of a forty-eight song collection which will be spread over three volumes with the second and third volume following in coming months. All volumes were produced by Rawlings and recorded between the making of two pivotal Welch albums Time (The Revelator) and Soul Journey.

Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs is available for pre-order here

Said the duo about the release:

“We stashed these recordings away years ago. Their shortcomings, real or imagined, technical or compositional, no longer seem bothersome today. Hearing them now is like seeing snapshots that captured moments the more formal portraits missed. So here we are hurrying them for release before the next tornado blows the whole shoebox away.”

The first two songs from the collection, “Strange Isabella” and “Mighty Good Book” have been made available:

Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs comes after 2016’s Boots No. 1: The Official Revival Bootleg, a double album of unreleased outtakes, alternate versions, and demos from the making of the seminal 1996 debut album.

Gillian Welch and David Rawlings recently released All The Good Times, a new album of ten acoustic covers recorded at home on a reel-to-reel. That collection contains songs by Bob Dylan, John Prine, Elizabeth Cotten and Norman Blake and is available on all formats here.

Gillian Welch
Boots No. 2: The Lost Songs, Volume 1

1. Johnny Dear
2. First Place Ribbon 
3. Give That Man A Road 
4, Mighty Good Book 
5. Chinatown 
6. Fly Down 
7. Shotgun Song 
8. Apalachicola
9. Strange Isabella 
10.Little Luli
11. Valley Of Tears
12. Blind On The Inside 
13. Back Turn And Swing 
14. Roll On
15. Honey Baby
16. Here Come The News

Produced by David Rawlings
Engineered by Matt Andrews
Mastering by Stephen Marcussen
All songs written by Gillian Welch & David Rawlings
(except 1-2, 9, 12, 14 written by Gillian Welch) 



New outing Gillian Welch

(Visited 461 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: