This Week – New Release Stampede! 2020 Vision!

Many new albums announced

Corb Lund – Photo: LTTL
Eliza Gilkyson – Photo: LTTL

New Music A-Plenty in 2020


Chatham County Line, Corb Lund, The Danberrys, Eliza Gilkyson, Mark Erelli, Pokey LaFarge, Reckless Kelly, Teddy Thompson

Chatham County Line

Bluegrass/folk outfit Chatham County Line come at us with a new sound and line-up with the release of their ninth studio album Strange Fascination, out May 15 on Yep Roc Records.

The lead single “Station-to-Station” has debuted – see below.

Strange Fascination was recorded at Fidelitorium Recordings in Kernersville, North Carolina and interestingly features drummer Yan Westerlund and guest vocals from Sharon Van Etten. In another departure, the band is moving away from its signature single microphone set-up in live shows.


Corb Lund

Multiple award-winning Corb Lund is set to release Agricultural Tragic on April 24 via New West Records. The twelve-song set is his first album of original material in five years.

A Canadian from the rural parts of Alberta in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, Lund has a long family lineage of ranchers and rodeo people and this is a prominent feature in his songs and live performances. The album’s title is an apt description of his rustic ethos.

The album’s first single “90 Seconds Of Your Time,” is a real-life tale of a mountain guide bent on murder after three mules and a horse mysteriously disappeared from camp.


The Danberrys

The husband and wife duo, Dorothy Daniel and Ben DeBerry, were high school sweethearts. Splitting for five years, they reunited when the pair crossed paths again and married four months later. 

They began performing together and made the move to Nashville in 2008. Three years later, they officially became The Danberrys with the release of an EP which then landed them an Independent Music Awards nomination and a spot opening for Robert Earl Keen at the Ryman Auditorium.

Two full-length and well-recognised albums later lead us to 2020 with the official announcement of their upcoming album Shine out May 8. Comprising twelve bristling new tracks, with crunching guitar and passionate vocals – it’s intense and compelling – a real contender for 2020 which will continue the duo’s rise into greater things.

Here’s “The Mountain” which features Darrell Scott.



Eliza Gilkyson

Two-time Grammy-nominated folk singer, songwriter and activist Eliza Gilkyson will be giving us more food for thought with her new release 2020. Reportedly this will be a collection of politically charged anthems designed to motivate, reflect and inspire action during what she believes will be “the most important USA election of our lifetime.”

Says the artist: “2020 was born out of a visceral impulse to promote unity, commitment and action during this epic and critical showdown of power versus people in the USA and our world today. May human decency prevail.”

She has shared the purposeful, rallying-cry song “Sooner or Later”:

Mark Erelli

Award-winning singer/songwriter Mark Erelli has released “A Little Kindness,” a track from his forthcoming LP Blindsided, due out March 27 via Soundly Music.

“A Little Kindness” was penned in the wake of the Las Vegas shooting and Tom Petty‘s passing. “The night Tom Petty died, I was scrolling through social media looking to commiserate with fellow fans,” Erelli explains. “Singer/songwriter Joe Pug suggested that the best way to celebrate Petty’s legacy would be to stop mourning and go write a song. I know good advice when I see it, and wrote this song in one sitting.”

Here’s the new song:

Pokey LaFarge

Pokey LaFarge is set to issue Rock Bottom Rhapsody on April 10 via New West Records.  The thirteen-song set was produced by Chris Seefried and was recorded at Reliable Recorders in Chicago.

The recordings feature guitarist Joel Paterson, keyboardist Scott Ligon, upright/electric bassist Jimmy Sutton (J.D. McPherson), and drummer Alex HallRock Bottom Rhapsody is LaFarge’s first album in over three years and follows 2017’s Manic Revelations.

LaFarge has premiered the track “End Of My Rope” and is quoted as saying about it: “I like to think of “End of My Rope” as kind of a Charlie Feathers meets The Everly Brothers meets T-Rex kind of sound.”  Hear the song below:


Reckless Kelly

Austin, Texas-based country rock band Reckless Kelly has announced not one, but two new full length albums, American Girls and American Jackpot, to be released on May 22 via Thirty Tigers.

The first single from the pair of albums, “I Only See You With My Eyes Closed” from American Girls, is featured below.

For both collections, the band called upon high-grade friends and fellow musicians Bukka Allen, Jeff Crosby, Charlie Sexton, Gary Clark Jr., Rosie Flores, Shawn Sahm, Muzzie Braun, Suzy Bogguss, Wade Bowen and many more to join their recording sessions.

Although initially intending to make just one album, the project took on a life of its own once they headed into the studio. “I wanted to produce this one by myself, just to try that out, and I made sure to book plenty of studio time to get it done right,” says co-founder Willy Braun. “We ended up moving along really fast, so I pulled out a few more songs and figured we’d end up using them down the road. Before we knew it, we had enough material for two really good records.”


Teddy Thompson

Artist and producer Teddy Thompson’s new album Heartbreaker Please is out April 24 via Thirty Tigers. Full of compelling songs about the (real-life) end of a relationship and featuring his high and melodious vocals, there is plenty to like here and his reputation builds out of the shadow of his musical family dynasty (son of Richard and Linda Thompson).

His work in producing all of Dori Freeman‘s three albums is noteworthy as well.

“Here’s the thing,” Thompson sings on his new album, “you don’t love me anymore. I can tell you’ve got one foot out the door.”

In Case You Missed It

Our USA September 2020 Music TourPlaces Are Filling

Singer/songwriter Kimberley Wheeler reviewed Bad For You by The SteelDrivers.

We updated our USA Music Festivals list for 2020

We revealed six recommended monthly new releases

We reviewed the debut album from Carrellee

The Ameripolitan Awards 2020 were featured

Artists are now able to apply for showcase spots at AmericanaFest and IBMA events

We reported on the colour, light and sounds of Mona Foma

Here’s news about a forthcoming documentary about Guy and Susanna Clark and Townes Van Zandt

And…Check out this year’s Blues Music Award nominees


Many new albums announced

(Visited 128 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply