This Week – Doucet, Moreland, McNeil, White, F/Collective, King, Town Mountain

catch the latest news, reviews

Fireside Collective – Photo: LTTL

Marcus King

Marcus King has shared a new, vintage soul song “One Day She’s Here”. The new track was written by King, Dan Auerbach and Pat McLaughlin and features drummer Gene Chrisman, keyboardist Bobby Wood and bassist Dave Roe, legendary musicians who have graced classic recordings by the likes of Johnny Cash, Aretha Franklin and Elvis Presley.

“One Day She’s Here” is featured on his debut solo record El Doradoproduced by Auerbach at Easy Eye Sound in Nashville, and due January 17, 2020 on Fantasy Records.

Interesting minimalist film clip!:


Town Mountain

Energetic, traditional outfit Town Mountain has had a busy year on the road, including performing at the legendary Grand Ole Opry. On September 30, the band made its debut at the iconic Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Morrison, Colorado, to a sold-out crowd alongside Robert Earl Keen and Tyler Childers.

A clip has been released of the band’s live performance of “Down Low” featuring Childers, who co-wrote the duet with banjo player and vocalist Jesse Langlais for the band’s most recent album New Freedom Blues.

Town Mountain is comprised of Langlais (banjo/vocals), Phil Barker (mandolin/vocals), Robert Greer (guitar/vocals), Bobby Britt (fiddle) and Zach Smith (bass). Since releasing its debut album Original Bluegrass and Roots Country in 2007, the band made a name for themselves in bluegrass, country and Americana circuits.

Returning to the road in 2020, the band will tour the US East Coast and are set to perform at Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion next September (You can join us there! – here’s how.)

Dee White

Dee White – Photo: LTTL

Southern Gentleman is Alabama native Dee White‘s debut album, released via Dan Auerbach’s label Easy Eye Sound and Warner Music Nashville. The record features performances by Alison Krauss, Ashley McBryde and Auerbach, who co-produced the album alongside David “Fergie” Ferguson

From a recent LR Baggs Soundcheck studio session, recorded during AmericanaFest 2019, here we have “Rose of Alabam” with backing players Benjo Markus (acoustic guitar, vocals), Jackson Miller (keys), David Ferguson (bass) and Mike McLaughlin (drums).

Tracy McNeil

You Be the Lightning will be the fifth album for Melbourne, Australia based, Canadian ex-pat Tracy McNeil, and her band The GoodLife. Following a successful Pozible album campaign earlier this year, the talented Americana five-piece will release their newest full-length album on February 14, 2020 (via Cooking Vinyl Australia).

Here’s a new song “Catch You”

“Catch You” by Tracy McNeil & The Good Life

John Moreland

John Moreland – Photo: LTTL

Critically-acclaimed songwriter John Moreland is set to release LP5 which is…you guessed it… his fifth solo album, on February 7 2020 (via Old Omens/Thirty Tigers).

Produced by Matt Pence (Jason Isbell, The Breeders, Sarah Jaffe) at The Echo Lab, LP5 marks the first time that Moreland has worked with an outside producer. Here’s one new song: 

“East October” by John Moreland

Michael Doucet

Michael Doucet (2R): Photo by Holly Brown

Grammy Award winning Cajun legend Michael Doucet will release Lâcher Prise via Compass Records on February 14, 2020. Doucet is a singer, songwriter, artist, founder of BeauSoleil avec Michael Doucet, and a National Endowment of the Arts Fellow.

Lâcher Prise is a glorious mix of South West Louisianan music – soulful swamp music, traditional Acadian tunes and joyful homages to the land and its people. The title means ‘let go’ in French and this collection is enthusiastically recommended.

The ten songs were recorded in just three days at Dockside in Maurice, Louisiana, a studio that has hosted Dr. John, Allen Toussaint, Rod Stewart and Arcade Fire. Compass Records co-founder Garry West produced.

Doucet is joined by Sarah Quintana [vocals, guitar], Chad Viator [guitar], Chris French [bass] and Jim Kolacek [drums]. Guests included Sarah Dugas (The Duhks), Reese Wynans (Stevie Ray Vaughan, Joe Bonamassa), and Jim Hoke (NRBQ).

Via Conqueroo

Fireside Collective

We caught Fireside Collective (Alex Genova, Joe Cicero, Jesse Iaquinto, Tommy Maher and Carson White) at the Station Inn during the AmericanaFest week last September.

A band that blends bluegrass with many other ingredients, they emerged five years ago from the fertile roots music scene of Asheville, North Carolina. In quick order, the progressive group released its debut, won the 2016 Band Contest at MerleFest and earned an International Bluegrass Music Association Momentum Band of the Year nomination.

A new single: Don’t Stop Loving Me”

Podcast Of The Week

Guitarist/producer Steve Dawson goes in-depth with guitarist/banjoist/writer/singer Molly Tuttle on Music Makers and Soul Shakers. A guitar nerd’s delight! Available at the iTunes store, Google Play or your regular podcast platform.

In Case You Missed It

We updated our list of 2020 Australian music festivals

Musician Kimberley Wheeler reviewed Mountaingrass festival (which includes one of the cutest pictures you will see for a while)

We previewed the initial lineup for Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion 2020

Our GrassRoots Music Tour remains open but the special Early Bird price will not be for that long.


catch the latest news, reviews

catch the latest news, reviews

(Visited 89 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply