This Week – BARK, Van, John, John, Johnny, Corb, Great Scott, Fanny, MK(B), Tess, Van

Catch up on some of the week’s music news

Darrell Scott Bluegrass Band – Photo: LTTL

Blackie and the Rodeo Kings

Blackie and the Rodeo Kings – Photo: Supplied

The mysteriously brilliant Blackie and the Rodeo Kings are celebrating their 25th year by releasing in 2020 their 10th album (via Warner Music Canada).

King of this Town will be out on January 24, 2020 and is available for pre-order. The first single from the album, “Cold 100,” is now available at all digital streaming services and retailers.

Blackie and the Rodeo Kings has also announced their first wave of ‘King Of This Town’ 2020 tour dates with more shows being announced soon. Every ticket for the band’s tour will include a digital copy of the new album.

Corb Lund

Corb Lund released his Cover Your Tracks EP on September 13 (via New West Records).  Listening Through The Lens heard some of the new songs performed live at AmericanaFest last month.

The eight-song EP is a collection of unexpected cover songs previously recorded by AC/DC, Nancy Sinatra, Billy Joel, Marty Robbins, Bob Dylan, The Eagles, Willie Nelson & Ray Charles, and Dr. Hook & The Medicine Show.  It was produced by Lund and John Evans, and features guest appearances from singer songwriter Hayes Carll and Canadian Western music legend Ian Tyson alongside Lund’s band The Hurtin Albertans

Here’s a clip for “Ride On”:

Darrell Scott

One of the great moments at the Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion this year involved Darrell Scott and his bluegrass band (Luke Bulla on fiddle, Bryn Davies on bass and Matt Flinner on banjo and mandolin). A wonderful set and a bluegrass version of “It’s A Great Day To Be Alive” had the crowd in joyful unison. Now Scott has released a new video of the song:

Fanny Lumsden

The P is silent as in swimming pool? Fanny Lumsden, has unveiled her new single, “Peed In The Pool” and announced her recent signing to Cooking Vinyl Australia.

Hailing from regional New South Wales, Lumsden has plenty of Australian accolades to her name – two ARIA nominated albums, an ARIA Country Chart-topping album, two Golden Guitars, a CMC Award, her own Record Label – Red Dirt Road Records and her own successful touring brand – The Country Halls Tour.

Back to the pool:

Johnny Cash

A new documentary The Gift: The Journey of Johnny Cash premieres on YouTube Originals on November 11. Directed by Emmy and Grammy winner Thom Zimny, the 90-minute film had the cooperation of the Cash estate.

The documentary made its debut in March at the SXSW Film Festival and also screened recently at the Telluride and Nashville Film Festivals.

Here is the movie trailer:

John Hiatt

Only The Song Survives is a John Hiatt box set which will be out on New West Records on December 6, 2019.  The collection will span two decades of releases beginning with Crossing Muddy Waters (2000) up to The Eclipse Sessions (2018), including eleven albums spread across fifteen long playing records, all pressed on high quality 180 gram vinyl.

Four studio albums, Crossing Muddy Waters (2000), The Tiki Bar (2001), Beneath This Gruff Exterior (2003), and Master of Disaster (2005) have been remastered and are available on vinyl for the first time.

The set will also include a 48-page book autographed by Hiatt and features testimonials, essays and insights from many of his co-conspirators throughout his career.

John Prine

John Prine has released a new version of his song “Unwed Fathers”, featuring special guest Margo Price.

Originally recorded for Prine’s limited edition, 7-inch vinyl EP The Living Room Sessions, the new version also features accompaniment from Jeremy Ivey and Kenneth Pattengale of The Milk Carton Kids .

Here it is:

Marcus King

Marcus King has announced a change in direction – genre-wise and through making a solo record. El Dorado, produced by Grammy winner Dan Auerbach will be released on January 17 2019 on Fantasy Records.

The 23-year-old guitar and soulful singing phenomenon has also revealed a 32-date tour in support of his new record. Dates here.

Here’s “The Well”:

Miss Tess

Miss Tess – Photo: LTTL

Miss Tess has unveiled her new single, the title track to her forthcoming album The Moon Is An Ashtray. “This song came out of an experiment with metaphor, smashing two unrelated words together to derive a new meaning,” Miss Tess told The Bluegrass Situation about the song. “This is one of the few songs in my writing career than just fell out of my brain in about an hour. I grew up with a lot of fairy-tale ideas of how life and love might pan out, but reality can be a harsh mistress.

Van Morrison

Van Morrison has announced details of a new album – Three Chords And The Truth. It will be released on Exile/Caroline International available on CD/vinyl and digital download on October 25, 2019.

Three Chords And The Truth was produced and written by Morrison (except for “If We Wait for Mountains” which was co-written with Don Black). The album has fourteen originals and is Van The Man’s sixth release in just four years. The newest outing features contributions from legendary guitarist Jay Berliner and a duet with The Righteous Brothers’ Bill Medley.

In Case You Missed It

We reviewed Out On The Weekend

We spilled the beans on the line-up for Port Fairy Folk Festival

We reported on the very last part of our GrassRoots Music Tour – the Hank Williams Museum

We updated our USA 2020 Festivals list

Catch up on some of the week’s music news

Catch up on some of the week’s music news

(Visited 141 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply