This Week – Bristol, Hart, Highwomen, Knight, Lund, Lawrence, Strings

Catch up on the latest new music news

Beth Hart – Photo: LTTL

Beth Hart

Beth Hart announces a new album War In My Mind to be issued September 27 (via Mascot Label Group/Provogue). “More than any record I’ve ever made, I’m more open to being myself on these songs,” Hart explains. “I’ve come a long way with healing, and I’m comfortable with my darknesses, weirdnesses and things that I’m ashamed of – as well as all the things that make me feel good.”

Here’s the first glimpse:

The Highwomen

The Highwomen, a collaborative movement formed by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Maren Morris and Amanda Shires, launched with the release of “Redesigning Women.” The single is the first unveiled from the collective’s self-titled debut album, produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Dave Cobb, which will be released September 6 on Low Country Sound/Elektra Records.

The Highwomen Track List:

1. Highwomen (Brandi Carlile, Amanda Shires, Jimmy Webb)
2. Redesigning Women (Natalie Hemby, Rodney Clawson)
3. Loose Change (Maren Morris, Maggie Chapman, Daniel Layus)
4. Crowded Table (Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Lori McKenna)
5. My Name Can’t Be Mama (Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris, Amanda Shires)
6. If She Ever Leaves Me (Amanda Shires, Jason Isbell, Chris Thompkins)
7. Old Soul (Maren Morris, Luke Dick, Laura Veltz)
8. Don’t Call Me (Amanda Shires, Peter Levin)
9. My Only Child (Natalie Hemby, Amanda Shires, Miranda Lambert)
10. Heaven Is A Honky Tonk (Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Ray LaMontagne)
11. Cocktail And A Song (Amanda Shires)
12. Wheels Of Laredo (Brandi Carlile, Tim Hanseroth, Phil Hanseroth

Corb Lund

Corb Lund – Photo: LTTL

Corb Lund has announced a new covers project, taking on tracks by the likes of AC/DC, Bob Dylan, Nancy Sinatra, Marty Robbins, the Eagles, Willie Nelson, Ray Charles and Billy Joel. The eight-song EP release is called Cover Your Tracks, and it will arrive on September 13 via New West Records.

Chris Knight

Chris Knight will be releasing his first new album in seven years. Almost Daylight, out on October 11, will be Knight’s ninth album since the captivating Little Victories in 2012 and will feature guests such as John Prine and Lee Ann Womack. Hear a new song “I’m William Callinan” at Rolling Stone Country. (Photo: LTTL)

Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion 2020

Organisers of Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion have announced a partnership with Bristol Motor Speedway to coordinate dates between the two events. Consequentially, the 2020 music festival has been brought forward and will take place 11 to 13 September next year.

This probably means a clash with AmericanaFest in nearby Nashville and a changed itinerary for LTTL’s GrassRoots Music Tour next year, details of which will be out this November.

William Lawrence

Songwriter and musician William Lawrence, a recording and touring member of The Felice Brothers and a player with Conor Oberst and others, has just released a new album called Slow Dancing on a High Wire.

The songs on this album were mostly performed by Lawrence, with Ian McGuire engineering, as he bounced around from drums to bass to guitar to keyboards to vocals. The songs also feature playing by Dan Stern (drums), Geoff Saunders (bass), Chris May (pedal steel) and Greg Marino (woodwinds).

Billy Strings

Another song from the forthcoming Billy Strings offering HOME, “Away From The Mire” is now available – listen below. More info on the new collection GO HERE.

In Case You Missed It?

We reviewed Fire Out Of Stone by Chuck Hawthorne

We talked with Josh Rennie-Hynes about his upcoming new album Patterns

We reviewed Joy Williams’ Front Porch

Our Weekly Top Pick is Jonah Tolchin’s Fires For The Cold

Our Albums Of The Month were put up on the front page

We updated our USA festival lists for 2019 and 2020.


Catch up on the latest new music news

(Visited 141 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply