Tyler Childers and The Country Squire

Read about ‘Country Squire’ the new release from Tyler Childers

Photo: Emma Delevante

Rapidly emerging Kentucky singer/songwriter Tyler Childers is set to release his new album Country Squire on August 2, 2019 (via Hickman Holler Records/RCA Records). A single “House Fire” is now available:

Turning again to Sturgill Simpson and David Ferguson, the album was recorded at The Butcher Shoppe in Nashville and consists of nine new songs written by Childers. In addition to Childers (vocals, acoustic guitar), the album features highly-regarded musicians Stuart Duncan (fiddle, mandolin, banjo), Miles Miller (drums, background vocals) and Russ Pahl (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, pedal steel, Jaw harp, baritone).

According to Childers: “I hope that people in the area that I grew up in find something they can relate to. I hope that I’m doing my people justice and I hope that maybe someone from somewhere else can get a glimpse of the life of a Kentucky boy.”

The release of Country Squire continues a series of breakout years for the artist since his critically acclaimed debut album Purgatory (2017) which featured on many “Best of 2017” lists including here at Listening Through The Lens. We also got to see his feisty performance as he was named “Emerging Artist of the Year” at the 2018 Americana Music Association Honors & Awards (and subsequent Showcase set). His extensive touring schedule has helped spread the good word including a recent set of dates supporting John Prine.


1. Country Squire

2. Bus Route

3. Creeker

4. Gemini

5. House Fire

6. Ever Lovin’ Hand

7. Peace of Mind

8. All Your’n  

9. Matthew

Read about ‘Country Squire’ the new release from Tyler Childers

(Visited 209 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: