Lukas Nelson Turns Off The News

Check out the new release from Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real

Photo: Joey Martinez

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real to issue ‘Turn Off The News (Build A Garden)’

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real follow up their acclaimed debut with Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) via Fantasy Records due June 14 2019. Listen to the album’s first single, “Bad Case”:

Recorded at Shangri-La in Malibu and the Village Studios in West L.A., Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) was co-produced by Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real and John Alagia, who helmed the group’s previous effort in 2017. The band (bassist Corey McCormick, drummer Anthony Logerfo, percussionist Tato Melgar, multi-instrumentalist Logan Metz and Nelson) worked fast recording thirty original songs during brief breaks between tours. They tracked straight to analog tape, keeping overdubs to a minimum while focusing on the live performances. Vocal and instrumental contributions from friends and family include Margo Price, Sheryl Crow, Willie Nelson, Micah Nelson, Kesha, Shooter Jennings, Randy Houser, Lucius, Madison Ryann Ward, Hunter Elizabeth and Neil Young.

Pre-Order Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) HERE

Here’s a trailer for the new album:

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real have seen their profile rise dramatically in the two years since the release of their self-titled debut.  The band has headlined shows and festivals all over world and made a number of prestigious television appearances, all while continuing as Neil Young’s go-to musical ensemble both on the road and in the studio. The band was nominated for Duo/Group Of The Year at last year’s Americana Awards and put in a blistering performance at the Honors and Awards Show last September.

Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) arrives on the heels of the group’s high-profile collaboration with Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper on 2018’s blockbuster film and soundtrack A Star Is Born. Lukas not only co-wrote and co-produced much of the film’s multi-platinum, Oscar-winning soundtrack, he also worked closely with Cooper in crafting the lead character’s (Jackson Maine) musical persona. Just recently, Lukas, Gaga and Cooper won the BAFTA Award for Film Music, one of the many accolades bestowed on the acclaimed project since its release.

Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) TRACK LIST:

1. Bad Case 
2. Turn Off The News (Build A Garden) 
3. Where Does Love Go 
4. Save A Little Heartache  
5. Lotta Fun  
6. Civilized Hell  
7. Mystery  
8. Simple Life  
9. Out In LA 
10. Something Real  
11. Stars Made Of You 
12. Turn Off The News (Build a Garden) [Acoustic] 
13. Consider It Heaven

Check out the new release from Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real

(Visited 115 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad


  1. Nice review, Rob. We saw LN & POTR just last night in Kansas City (where they were WAY TOO LOUD. It was the third time I’ve seen them since becoming captivated by them at their performance at Jazziest in New Orleans last year. On May 17 we will see them at the Ryman Theater in Nashville, I hope they won’t be so loud there. Then you have probably seen that they are on the lineup for the Columbia, MO roots, blues, and bbq this year so we’ll see them again there. We loved the songs from the upcoming album, and Build a Garden resonated lyrically. Hope you are well! From across the big pond–Sara

    Post a Reply
    • Hi Sara. Thanks. I’ve been a bit slow in catching on to them. Ordered their last record – loved the songs I’ve heard. Were they at Knuckleheads? Pity about the volume. Jim and I saw Marcus King Reunion Band at Bristol Rhythm and Roots last year- couldn’t tell how good they were because it was SO LOUD. LN playing at RNBNBBQ will be great, even better at The Ryman – they’ll get the sound right at the latter. Hope you are going from strength to strength.

      Post a Reply

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: