Justin Townes Talks About Lost Causes

Read about the new album from Justin Townes Earle Out May 2019

Justin Townes Earle Photo: Joshua Black Wilkens

‘The Saint Of Lost Causes’ Out May 24, 2019

Justin Townes Earle is set to return with The Saint of Lost Causes on May 24, 2019 (out on New West Records). The twelve-song set was co-produced by Earle and his longtime engineer Adam Bednarik and was recorded at Sound Emporium in Nashville. Founded by Cowboy Jack Clement in 1969, Sound Emporium has hosted Johnny Cash, Kenny Rogers, R.E.M. and many more. The Saint of Lost Causes is Earle’s follow up to 2017’s Kids In The Street (see our review).

Born in Nashville in 1982, the son of country-rock icon Steve Earle, for years struggled with addiction with numerous stints in rehab; long stretches of itinerancy and general juvenile delinquency; a youth he once said he was “lucky to have gotten out of alive.” These days Earle is focused as a married father to a baby girl. While he describes Kids In The Street as “one of the more personal records I’ve ever made,” he chose to focus his gaze outward for this new set of songs.

The Saint of Lost Causes is reportedly focused on a different America – the disenfranchised and the downtrodden, the oppressed and the oppressors, the hopeful and the hopeless, as well as their geography. According to the media release,

there’s the drugstore-cowboy-turned-cop-killer praying for forgiveness (“Appalachian Nightmare”), the Michiganders persevering through economic and industrial devastation (“Flint City Shake It”), the stuck mother dreaming of a better life on the right side of the California tracks (“Over Alameda”), the Cuban man in New York City weighed down by a world of regret (“Ahi Esta Mi Nina”), the “used up” soul desperate to get to New Orleans (“Ain’t Got No Money”) and the “sons of bitches” in West Virginia poisoning the land and sea (“Don’t Drink The Water”).

“I was trying to look through the eyes of America,” Earle says. “Because I believe in the idea of America – that everybody’s welcome here and has a right to be here.” The album’s first single has been released, “Ain’t Got No Money,” according to Earle is a “shifty roots rocker.” Hear it below.

Justin Townes Earle – The Saint Of Lost Causes Track Listing:

1. The Saint Of Lost Causes
2. Ain’t Got No Money
3. Mornings In Memphis
4. Don’t Drink The Water
5. Frightened By The Sound
6. Flint City Shake It
7. Over Alameda
8. Pacific Northwestern Blues
9. Appalachian Nightmare
10. Say
11. Ahi Esta Mi Nina
12. Talking To Myself Baby

Read about the new album from Justin Townes Earle Out May 2019

(Visited 322 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: