Blue Sky – Townes Van Zandt

Read about the new Townes Van Zandt collection – Blue Sky

New Townes Van Zandt Collection Out March 7 2019

Sky Blue, a collection of unreleased recordings (and two unreleased songs) by one of the most celebrated songwriters, is a time capsule that Townes Van Zandt created forty-six years ago. Scheduled for release by TVZ Records and Fat Possum Records on March 7 2019 – which would have been his 75th birthday – this album shows the artist working out some of his most iconic songs in an intimate, comfortable setting with one of his lifelong confidantes.

Hear the new song “All I Need”:

 Sky Blue includes eleven unreleased recordings made in early 1973 with the late Bill Hedgepeth, a journalist, musician, and close friend of Townes. The singer-songwriter was splitting his time between Texas, Colorado, and a shack outside Franklin, Tennessee: an itinerant life that informed many of his most famous and beloved tunes. Throughout his life he would often return to Hedgepeth’s home studio in Atlanta, later with family in tow, to record, re-work, and experiment with new songs as well as old favorites.

These versions of “Pancho & Lefty” and “Rex’s Blues” show these songs as early drafts: raw, sorrowful. A master of economic songwriting and playing, confident that his ideas and emotions would come through more clearly for being so understated.

In addition to a handful of old favorites, Sky Blue also includes two new songs that have never been heard before – “All I Need” and “Sky Blue” – as well as covers of songs by Richard Dobson and Tom Paxton. There is a smoky version of “Blue Ridge Mountain Blues” and a scarred interpretation of “Hills of Roane County”, an East Tennessee murder ballad from the 1880’s that was popularized by master bluegrass guitarist Tony Rice. Van Zandt performs them deftly and displays his delightfully twisted sense of humor on the stinging “Snake Song” and “Dream Spider”.

Conceived by Townes’ surviving family – his wife and literary executor Jeanene, along with his children, J.T., Will, and Katie Bell – Sky Blue sounds fresh against the weight of reissues of old recordings. Anyhow, any TVZ is good TVZ, right?!

Sky Blue Tracklist

1. All I Need
2. Rex’s Blues
3. Hills of Roane County
4. Sky Blue
5. Forever For Always For Certain
6. Blue Ridge Mountain Blues (Smoky Version)
7. Pancho and Lefty
8. Snake Song
9. Silver Ships of Andilar
10. Dream Spider
11. The Last Thing On My Mind


Read about the new Townes Van Zandt collection – Blue Sky


(Visited 287 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: