Steve Does GUY

Check out the new Steve Earle album ‘GUY’ Dedicated to Guy Clark

Steve Earle Photo: LTTL


Steve Earle & The Dukes


Out March 29 2019


Steve Earle & The Dukes are set to return with GUY on March 29, 2019 (on New West Records),

The sixteen-song set is comprised of songs written by one of his primary songwriting mentors, the legendary Guy Clark.  GUY appears ten years after his Grammy Award winning album TOWNES, his tribute to his other major influence, Townes Van Zandt.  Produced by Earle and recorded by his longtime production partner Ray Kennedy, GUY features his latest incarnation of his backing band The Dukes including Kelley Looney on bass, Chris Masterson on guitar, Eleanor Whitmore on fiddle and mandolin, Ricky Ray Jackson on pedal steel guitar, and Brad Pemberton on drums and percussion.  GUY also features guest appearances by fellow Guy Clark cohorts Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell, Terry Allen, Jerry Jeff Walker, Mickey Raphael, Shawn Camp, Verlon Thompson, Gary Nicholson and the photographer Jim McGuire.

Earle first met Guy Clark after hitchhiking from San Antonio to Nashville in 1974.  A few months after his arrival, he found himself taking over for a young Crowell as bassist in Guy’s band.  “No way I could get out of doing this record,” says Earle. “When I get to the other side, I didn’t want to run into Guy having made the TOWNES record and not one about him.”

“Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark were like Kerouac and Allen Ginsberg to me.”  Clark was 33 at the time Earle met him and their relationship lasted longer.  “When it comes to mentors, I’m glad I had both,” says Earle. “If you asked Townes what it’s all about, he’d hand you a copy of Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee.  If you asked Guy the same question, he’d take out a piece of paper and teach you how to diagram a song, what goes where. Townes was one of the all-time great writers, but he only finished three songs during the last fifteen years of his life. Guy had cancer and wrote songs until the day he died…he painted, he built instruments, he owned a guitar shop in the Bay Area where the young Bobby Weir hung out. He was older and wiser. You hung around with him and knew why they call what artists do disciplines. Because he was disciplined.”

GUY wasn’t really a hard record to make,” Earle says. “We did it fast, five or six days with almost no overdubbing. I wanted it to sound live…When you’ve got a catalog like Guy’s and you’re only doing sixteen tracks, you know each one is going to be strong.

The album’s first single and lead-off track “Dublin Blues” has been released, the audio-only clip follows:



There was another reason Earle couldn’t not make GUY“As you live your life, you pile up these regrets.  I’ve done a lot of things that might be regrettable, but most of them I don’t regret because I realize I couldn’t have done anything else at the time.  With Guy, however, there was this thing.  When he was sick — he was dying really for the last ten years of his life — he asked me if we could write a song together.  We should do it ‘for the grandkids,’ he said. Well, I don’t know…at the time, I still didn’t co-write much, then I got busy.  Then Guy died and it was too late. That, I regret.”

GUY, Steve Earle’s 19th studio album, will be available on CD, across digital retailers, standard black vinyl, limited edition blue vinyl available at Independent retailers, an extremely limited-to-200 clear vinyl edition available at retailers in Texas and Tennessee, a limited autographed edition available at Barnes & Noble stores, and limited edition red vinyl exclusively available for pre-order now via New West Records.

GUY Track Listing:

1. Dublin Blues
2. L.A. Freeway
3. Texas 1947
4. Desperados Waiting For A Train
5. Rita Ballou
6. The Ballad Of Laverne And Captain Flint
7. The Randall Knife
8. Anyhow I Love You
9. That Old Time Feeling
10. Heartbroke
11. The Last Gunfighter Ballad
12. Out In The Parking Lot
13. She Ain’t Going Nowhere
14. Sis Draper
15. New Cut Road
16. Old Friends





Like to e-subscribe to Listening Through The Lens?

Click on the HOME PAGE and enter your email address

It’s free

We won’t clutter your inbox

We won’t share your email address

You can unsubscribe at any time


Check out the new Steve Earle album ‘GUY’ Dedicated to Guy Clark



(Visited 284 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: