Sing Us A Song, You’re The Piano Man

Read about Texas Piano Man the new outing from Robert Ellis


Robert Ellis


Robert Ellis is set to return with Texas Piano Man on February 14, 2019 via New West Records.

The eleven-song set is largely comprised of songs written by Ellis, was co-produced by him and Niles City Sound (Leon Bridges) in Fort Worth, Texas.  While being a highly accomplished guitarist, he shows his talent for the grand piano on this new collection.  Texas Piano Man follows Ellis’ critically acclaimed 2016 self-titled record which we loved here at Listening Through The Lens (read our review).  According to his label, New West Records, the new collection gathers together pumping piano, soaring vocals and disarmingly sincere lyrics.

Texas Piano Man’s lead off song, the boldly titled “Fucking Crazy,” and its video (shot in Marfa, Texas) have been released and there’s plenty of Ellis’ characteristic humour on display.




Ellis has a blistering track record (no pun intended) with his previous releases, maintaining a supreme standard of songwriting and arrangements that would be the envy of many.

Of his native State, Ellis says “With Texas, people expect a certain thing and they want a certain thing, and I fought that for a long time.  I’ve realized though that Texas shouldn’t be made a category.  I want to redefine to the outside world what it means to be Texan a little bit.”

Always unexpected, always re-defining, always challenging.  The cover artwork for the album features Ellis on top of a mountain in Marfa seated at a grand piano, wearing a white tuxedo.  He describes the subject of Texas Piano Man as the guy who wears the tuxedo everywhere.   “It’s more about a spirit,” he says, “than an aestheticThere’s the classic play of the piano man, and with a little fashion behind it.  I want you to listen to the songs.  But also to see the rings and the glitz and the glamor.”

Robert Ellis’ Texas Piano Man will be available on CD, across digital retailers, standard black vinyl, as well as limited edition sky blue coloured vinyl available at Independent Retailers and ‘Yellow Rose Of Texas’ coloured vinyl directly from New West Records.

Another reason to look forward to Valentine’s Day 2019.


Robert Ellis Texas Piano Man Track Listing 

1. Fucking Crazy
2. When You’re Away
3. Nobody Smokes Anymore
4. Passive Aggressive
5. Father
6. There You Are
7. Let Me In
8. Aren’t We Supposed To Be In Love?
9. Lullaby
10. He Made Me Do It
11. Topo Chico




Read about Texas Piano Man the new outing from Robert Ellis




Like to e-subscribe to Listening Through The Lens?

Click on the HOME PAGE and enter your email address

It’s free

We won’t clutter your inbox

We won’t share your email address

You can unsubscribe at any time



(Visited 420 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: