Earls of Leicester Go Live

Read about the new live album from The Earls Of Leicester

photo Patrick Sheehan


Bluegrass Supergroup

The Earls of Leicester

To Release Live Recording

Out September 28 2018


The Grammy award-winning sextet The Earls of Leicester is returning with a live album (.

The band derives its name from the two bluegrass icons Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs and established to preserve and promote their legacy in the hope of reviving the duo’s music for longtime admirers and introducing a new generation to their genre-defining sound.

The Nashville-based The Earls of Leicester released an eponymous debut (2014) and, within a year, won a Grammy Award for Best Bluegrass Album and earned six awards from the International Bluegrass Music Association.  The band then released its acclaimed album Rattle & Roar in 2016 and, at the 2017 IBMA Awards, took home the Entertainer of the Year prize for the third year in a row.

Members are Barry Bales (bass, vocals), Shawn Camp (guitar, lead vocals), Charlie Cushman (banjo, guitars), Jerry Douglas (Dobro, vocals), Johnny Warren (fiddle, bass vocals) and Jeff White (mandolin, vocals) (Tim O’Brien was in the original incarnation).

Live at The CMA Theater in The Country Music Hall of Fame was recorded during a two-night term at the Country Music Association Theatre in the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in downtown Nashville.  The twenty three-song set features fourteen new recordings, and selected numbers from their two previous studio albums.  Made up entirely of songs from 1954 to 1965, the collection combines classic tunes with more obscure numbers unearthed thanks to the band’s encyclopedic familiarity with Flatt and Scruggs’s body of work.  The all-star outfit will bring Flatt and Scruggs’ acclaimed Foggy Mountain Boys to life.

Says the band’s founder and producer Jerry Douglas:  “This music conjures up my childhood—it drops me off into a kinder, gentler place, and I think it should do that for everybody. “When people come to see us, we want them to forget about the outside world and all the stress or strife that goes along with it, and hopefully hold onto that feeling for a while even after the show’s over.”

Live at The CMA Theater in The Country Music Hall of Fame is available in both CD and double-disc vinyl packages.


Here is first song released from the new release – “Long Journey Home”:




Track List

1 Introduction
2 Salty Dog Blues*
3 Will You Be Lonesome Too
4 Earl’s Breakdown*
5 Long Journey Home*
6 I’ll Go Stepping Too
7 I’m Gonna Sleep With One Eye Open*
8 I Ain’t Gonna Work Tomorrow*
9 Rollin’ In My Sweet Baby’s Arm*
10 All I Want Is You
11 Let The Church Roll On*
12 My Mother Prays So Loud In Her Sleep
13 Big Black Train
14 Band Introductions
15 Black Eyed Suzy*
16 Hamway*
17 What’s Good For You (Should Be Alright For Me)
18 Branded Wherever I Go
19 You Can Feel It In Your Soul
20 Reunion In Heaven*
21 Flint Hill Special
22 Don’t Let Your Deal Go Down
23 Medley: Spanish Two Step* / Steel Guitar Blues
24 Martha White Theme Song*
25 White House Blues*
26 Foggy Mountain Breakdown*

*denotes new song



This slideshow requires JavaScript.




Tour Dates

Aug 28 Rocky Mount, VA @ Harvester Performance Center
Aug 29 Sellersville, PA @ Sellersville Theater
Aug 31 Brunswick, ME @ Thomas Point Beach Bluegrass Special
Sep 1 Pilesgrove, NJ @ Delaware Valley Bluegrass Festival
Sep 2 Alexandria, VA @ Birchmere
Sep 13 Nashville, TN @ Americana Fest
Sep 14 Knoxville, TN @ Bijou Theatre
Sep 15 Morehead, KY @ Poppy Mountain Bluegrass Festival
Sep 28 Raleigh, NC @ Wide Open Bluegrass Festival
Sep29 Greeneville, TN @ Niswonger Performing Arts Center


Read about the new live album from The Earls Of Leicester


(Visited 419 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: