Revisit Sirens Of The Ditch

Read about the deluxe re-issue of an early Jason Isbell album

Jason Isbell with Amanda Shires


Jason Isbell’s Sirens Of The Ditch

Reissued In Deluxe Version

Out Jul 13, 2018




New West Records is set to release a deluxe edition of Jason Isbell’s Sirens Of The Ditch on July 13 2018.

Originally released in 2007, Isbell’s solo debut was met with critical acclaim.  Co-produced by Isbell and his former Drive-By Truckers’ band mate, Patterson HoodSirens Of The Ditch was recorded at the legendary FAME recording studio (Otis Redding, Aretha Franklin, Wilson Pickett) in Isbell’s hometown of Muscle Shoals, Alabama.

“A lot of old soul musicians came through here in the late ‘60s and ‘70s and helped define the Muscle Shoals sound, so that influence was always in my environment, but on this record I really tried to capture that,” Isbell stated in the album’s original press release.

On Sirens Of The Ditch, Isbell is joined by Brad Morgan of the Drive-By Truckers on drums, and former Drive-By Truckers member, Shonna Tucker on bass.  Several musicians pop in for cameos including the iconic Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section players David Hood (Patterson’s Father) and Spooner Oldham on “Down In A Hole,” John Neff of Drive-By Truckers on “Dress Blues,” and Patterson Hood on “Shotgun Wedding.”

On the new, deluxe version of Sirens Of The Ditch four previously unreleased songs from the original sessions at FAME are featured, bringing the new, expanded track listing to fifteen songs.  NPR Music premiered two of the unreleased tracks a couple of days back, including the Patterson Hood penned “The Assassin,” which Isbell performs in concert to this day, and “Whisper”.  Hear them below.

Sirens Of The Ditch (Deluxe Edition) will be available across digital platforms, on CD, as well as 180g vinyl.  There will also be a limited, clear vinyl LP version available at Independent Retailers as well as a limited, split brown & cream colored version exclusive to Vinyl Me Please.  Sirens Of The Ditch (Deluxe Edition) is now available for pre-order.

This news follows Isbell’s astounding run of solo albums starting with Southeastern (2013), garnering multiple awards and a cherished place in the Americana and alt. country scene.  Looking back should make for interesting listening.




Sirens Of The Ditch (Deluxe Reissue) Track Listing:

1. Brand New Kind Of Actress
2. Down In A Hole
3. Try
4. Chicago Promenade
5. Dress Blues
6. Grown
7. Hurricanes and Hand Grenades
8. In A Razor Town
9. Shotgun Wedding
10. The Magician
11. The Devil Is My Running Mate
12. Whisper (Previously Unreleased)
13. Crystal Clear (Previously Unreleased)
14. The Assassin (Previously Unreleased)
15. Racetrack Romeo (Previously Unreleased)




Read about the deluxe re-issue of an early Jason Isbell album

Read about the deluxe re-issue of an early Jason Isbell album

Read about the deluxe re-issue of an early Jason Isbell album



(Visited 324 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply