The Things They Did…The Things They Didn’t

Check out the new album from The Milk Carton Kids

The Milk Carton Kids – photo Rob Dickens


Unveil New Album
All The Things That I Did and All The Things That I Didn’t Do
out Friday June 29


pre-order link

ANTI Records has announced the release of All The Things That I Did And All The Things That I Didn’t Do, the new album from two-time Grammy-nominated acoustic band The Milk Carton Kids.  It is now available for pre-order and arrives everywhere on Friday June 29.

The duo’s fourth studio album contains an epic, unexpected track “One More For The Road” – a hypnotic ten-minute-plus musical excursion through folk, jazz and psychedelia.  Watch the clip below and decide for yourself.  Can you detect a little taste of The Doors’ “The End”?

The Milk Carton Kids (Joey Ryan and Kenneth Pattengale) underwent a number of dramatic changes in the time since their last recorded outing Monterey.  Ryan is now the father of two children and works as a producer on Live From Here with Chris Thile (Punch Brothers).   Pattengale’s relationship of seven years ended, he is now producing records in Nashville, and he survived cancer – breaking a long cigarette habit in the process.  Perhaps as a result, All The Things That I Did And All The Things That I Didn’t Do could be a personal and most intriguing collection with a fuller sound and plenty of life experiences from which to create.

“We wanted to do something new,” Pattengale says. “We had been going around the country yet another time to do the duo show, going to the places we’d been before. There arose some sort of need for change.” “Musically we knew we were going to make the record with a bigger sonic palette,” says Ryan. “It was liberating to know we didn’t have to be able to carry every song with just our two guitars.”



The new album was recorded last October in the Sun Room at House of Blues Studio in Nashville, Tennesse with Grammy Award-winning producer Joe Henry (Solomon Burke, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott, Carolina Chocolate Drops) and Grammy Award-winning engineer Ryan Freeland (Ray Lamontagne, Bonnie Raitt).  The Milk Carton Kids this time around have featured backing by other musicians, for the first time.  A stellar lineup of top session players was involved, including Russ Pahl (Kacey Musgraves, Blake Shelton) on pedal steel and other guitars, bassists Paul Kowert (Punch Brothers) and Dennis Crouch (Gregg Allman, Johnny Cash), Wilco’s Pat Sansone on piano, mellotron, and Hammond organ, drummer Jay Bellerose (Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, Elton John, Willie Nelson), cellist Nathaniel Smith (Sarah Jarosz, Abigail Washburn), Levon Henry (Blake Mills, Nico Muhly) on clarinet and saxophone, Brittany Haas on fiddle and mandolin, as well as Lindsay Lou and Logan Ledger lending additional vocals .

Founded in 2011, The Milk Carton Kids emerged as a major force in the American folk tradition, blending heavenly harmonies, inventive guitar work and, on stage, wry humour a-plenty.  Previous collections are Prologue (2011), The Ash & Clay (2013) and 2015’s Monterey.

The duo also was crowned Best Duo/Group by The Americana Music Association and has collaborated with Emmylou Harris, Steve Earle, Shovels & Rope, Chris Hillman, as well as teaming with T-Bone Burnett & Joel and Ethan Coen for the acclaimed concert documentary, Another Day, Another Time: Celebrating the Music of Inside Llewyn Davis.  In 2016, the band joined forces with Emmylou Harris, Steve Earle, Patty Griffin, Buddy Miller and Robert Plant for the sold-out Lampedusa: Concerts for Refugees tour.



Track List:

1. Just Look At Us Now
2. Nothing Is Real
3. Younger Years
4. Mourning In America
5. You Break My Heart
6. Blindness
7. One More For The Road
8. Big Time
9. A Sea Of Roses
10. Unwinnable War
11. I’ve Been Loving You
12. All The Things That I Did And All The Things That I Didn’t Do


Check out the new album from The Milk Carton Kids


(Visited 233 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: