Dave Alvin and Jimmie Dale Gilmore Team Up

Read about the new album from Dave Alvin and Jimmie Dale Gilmore

Dave Alvin and Jimmie Dale Gilmore
announce new album: Downey to Lubbock

Worldwide release date: June 1, 2018


“It’s like we’ve been playing together since we were kids,” says Downey, California’s Dave Alvin of his musical partnership with Lubbock, Texas native Jimmie Dale Gilmore.

Now is as good a time as any to form finally form a collaborative duo.  The result is Downey To Lubbock (out June 1 2018 via Yep Roc Records), it seems hard to believe they haven’t.

Friends for over three decades, it took Alvin – the founder of seminal punk roots band The Blasters with his brother Phil followed by a decorated solo career – and Gilmore, of the pioneering country-folk trio
The Flatlanders, until last year to collaborate at long last.  Embarking on a spontaneous twelve-city tour, the two seasoned veterans of the road found a mutual love of New Orleans’ Rhythm & Blues, Texas and West Coast Country Music, traditional folk and early Rock n Roll.  Their duo sets could drifted from Merle Haggard to Sam Cooke to the Youngbloods, and the pair had so much fun they began planning a record as soon as the tour wrapped.

Downey To Lubbock is a twelve-song collection that takes on a diverse range of American music spanning nearly one hundred years.  Along with ten covers, Alvin wrote two originals for the record: the autobiographical title track and the fantastical “Billy The Kid and Geronimo”. The latter sees Alvin and Gilmore trade verses as their folk heroes have a debate on morality, oppression and injustice.

Alvin and Gilmore musically traverse space between their home states, taking on the work of Woody Guthrie, Johnny “Guitar” Watson, Lightnin’ Hopkins and Brownie McGhee.

Dave Alvin and Jimmie Dale Gilmore will tour again – see dates HERE.


  1. Downey To Lubbock
  2. Silverlake
  3. Stealin’, Stealin’
  4. July, You’re A Woman
  5. Buddy Brown’s Blues
  6. The Gardens
  7. Get Together
  8. K.C. Moan
  9. Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  10. Billy The Kid and Geronimo
  11. Deportee – Plane Wreck At Los Gatos
  12. Walk On

Read about the new album from Dave Alvin and Jimmie Dale Gilmore



(Visited 329 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: