Calexico Neo Musico

Read about brand new material from Tucson’s Calexico

Photo Jim Jacob

Tucson, Arizona-based outfit Calexico is set to release an new album.  The band, which has as its core members, Joey Burns and John Convertino, will be issuing The Thread That Keeps Us via Anti- Records on January 26 2018.

The forthcoming ninth studio album is Calexico’s follow-up to 2015’s Edge of Sun, and was collaboratively produced by the band and their longtime engineer Craig Schumacher.

Two lyric videos have been released – @End of the World with You” and ”Voices in the Field” which you can check out below. About the latter, here’s what Burns has said:

”Check out the first song “End of the World With You” below. Here’s a video with lyrics featuring some stunning video footage filmed by our good friend Craig Schumacher from WaveLab Recording Studio who came with us on our travels to studios from El Paso to the Northern California coast. See if you can recognize the three figures waving from the edge of the coast at the end of the video. Great editing by the talented Jonny Sanders. The song is inspired by some of my favorite indie rock bands when growing up in California like Pavement, Sebadoh, and The Replacements. There’s some jangle, there’s some whacked out fuzz guitar and some sweet melodies mapping out the need for love, light and time in this “age of the extremes.”

The Thread That Keeps Us Tracklist:

01. End of the World with You
02. Voices in the Field
03. Bridge to Nowhere
04. Spinball
05. Under the Wheels
06. The Town & Miss Lorraine
07. Flores y Tamales
08. Another Space
09. Unconditional Waltz
10. Girl in the Forest
11. Eyes Wide Awake
12. Dead in the Water
13. Shortboard
14. Thrown to the Wild
15. Music Box

Read about brand new material from Tucson’s Calexico


(Visited 145 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply