American Folk – The Film, The Soundtrack, The Tour

Read about the film American Folk featuring Joe Purdy and Amber Rubarth

Joe Purdy


 ‘American Folk’

Featuring Joe Purdy and Amber Rubarth

Out January 26 2018


The soundtrack for the acclaimed independent film American Folk starring musicians Joe Purdy and Amber Rubarth will be released January 26 2018 via Thirty Tigers (now available for pre-order).  In advance of the release, the song “Someone Singing With Me” is now available.



In addition to classic folk song renditions by Purdy and Rubarth and original compositions, the soundtrack includes John Prine’s “Some Humans Ain’t Human” and Jerry Garcia & David Grisman’s “Freight Train.”  See below for complete track listing.

The album release coincides with the theatrical opening of the film, which has already drawn widespread critical attention.

Additionally, the movie won Best American Independent Film Feature at the Cleveland International Film Festival, a Special Jury Commendation for Best Music at the Port Townsend Film Festival, a Youth Jury Award for Best Feature at the Rhode Island International Film Festival and received nominations at the Seattle International Film Festival, the Heartland Film Festival, the Jackson Crossroads Film Festival, the Santa Barbara International Film Festival, the Napa Valley Film Festival and the Southside Film Festival among.

In celebration of the album release and film opening, Purdy and Rubarth will embark on a select series of performances next year including shows in L.A., San Francisco, Seattle, D.C., Boston, New York and Derry, NH.  See below for details.  Additional dates to be announced.

Written and directed by David Heinz, the film stars Purdy and Rubarth along with guest stars Krisha Fairchild (Krisha) and David Fine (The Pursuit of Happyness).  Filmed over 3500 miles in 14 states, the movie follows Elliott (Purdy) and Joni (Rubarth) —two strangers, both folk musicians—whose fates become intertwined after their plane is grounded in Los Angeles following the September 11 attacks.  Both desperately needing to get back to New York, they embark on a cross-country journey in a 1972 Chevy Van.  Along the way, the duo finds solace in their mutual love of classic folk songs, and raising their voices with everyday people they meet on the road.


Amber Rubarth and Joe Purdy – photo Devin Whetstone


American Folk Track List

1. This Old Guitar (performed/written by Joe Purdy)
2. Some Humans Ain’t Human (performed/written by John Prine)
3. Joni, Elliot (Dialogue)
4. Red River Valley (performed by Joe Purdy & Amber Rubarth, traditional)
5. Black Jack Davey (performed by Joe Purdy & Amber Rubarth, written by A.P. Carter)
6. Pretty Saro (Instrumental) (performed by Joe Purdy, traditional)
7. Someone Singing With Me (performed by Joe Purdy & Amber Rubarth, written by Joe Purdy)
8. Oh! Susanna (Instrumental) (performed by Joe Purdy, written by Stephen Collins Foster)
9. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot (performed by Amber Rubarth, written by Wallace Willis)
10. Freight Train (performed by Jerry Garcia & David Grisman, written by Elizabeth Cotten)
11. Play (Dialogue)
12. New York (performed/written by Amber Rubarth)
13. Hello Stranger (performed by Amber Rubarth & Joe Purdy, written by A.P. Carter)
14. Moonlight (performed by Joe Purdy & Amber Rubarth, written by Blaze Foley)
15. Oh Shenandoah (performed by Joe Purdy & Amber Rubarth, traditional)
16. Lonesome Valley (Joe Purdy & Amber Rubarth)
17. Of Course (Dialogue)
18. This Old Guitar (full version) (performed by Joe Purdy & Amber Rubarth, written by Joe Purdy)
19. Townes (performed by Amber Rubarth & Joe Purdy, written by Amber Rubarth)


American Folk Confirmed Tour Dates
January 26—Los Angeles, CA—Hotel Café
January 27—San Francisco, CA—The Independent
January 28—Seattle, WA—Triple Door
January 30—Washington D.C.—The Hamilton
February 1—Boston, MA—Brighton Music Hall
February 2—New York, NY—City Winery
February 3—Derry, NH—Tupelo Music Hall




Read about the film American Folk featuring Joe Purdy and Amber Rubarth


(Visited 385 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad


  1. Very helpful and informative article. If you do not mind then I will share it.
    Thank you

    Post a Reply
    • Please do

      Post a Reply

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: