Gill Landry’s New Release

Read about Gill Landry’s upcoming album Love Rides A Dark Horse


photo by Alysse Gafkjen

Gill Landry has announced the release of his new studio album, Love Rides A Dark Horse’ due October 6 2017 on ATO Records.

The first single and video from the nine-song collection, “Berlin” is now available (see below).  Following his well-received, self-titled 2015 debut, Love Rides A Dark Horse is born out of the better part of a year Landry spent picking up the pieces of a failed relationship.  Touring and recording alone during this period, he wrote about depression and expectation and desire.

“Love and hate need each other for either to have meaning and I feel like it’s the same way with people,” says Landry. “I’d like to believe love always wins coming down the stretch—it just might not be the way you envisioned it. In my experience love often isn’t what I expected and wouldn’t be half as good if it was. That basically is what I wrote this album about. The dark horse is the unexpected winner.”

Love Rides A Dark Horse breaks new ground for Landry with contributions from fiddler Ross Holmes (Mumford & Sons, Bruce Hornsby), keyboard player Skylar Wilson (Andrew Combs, Rayland Baxter), and drummer Logan Matheny (Roman Candle, Rosebuds).  The songs spill over with female harmonies by Klara Soderberg (First Aid Kit), Karen Elson and Odessa.  Landry’s own vocals are front and centre with the arrangements built around his husky baritone.  The approach points to him exploring a more seductive, stripped-down sound.

“A little over two short years ago, I was set to be married to a woman I loved very much, had just won my second Grammy with Old Crow Medicine Show, and life was good by all perceivable standards,” continues Landry. “However, I was deeply unsatisfied artistically and needed to leave the band. After the first year of touring my last album, I swore to myself I wasn’t writing another goddamned broken-hearted love song, but then my lover took flight and I found myself alone, worn out, disillusioned, and heartbroken in a way I hadn’t known before.  But, I wanted to find a light in the darkness.  This album is more of ‘a map out of the darkness’ than ‘an invitation to it.'”

Landry wrote the majority of the album in December 2016 while staying in Washington state with the cold wind and rain pounding in from the North Pacific.  He then headed back to Nashville living above his friend Nikki Lane where he wrote the remainder of the material.  He recorded the album in a cabin in the country outside Whites Creek, Tennessee and then went back on the road where he finished vocals and final pieces in Stockholm, The Isle of Skye, and Blue River, Oregon.

Plans are in the works for Landry to be on the road supporting Love Rides A Dark Horse throughout the remainder of 2017 and well into 2018, including Americanafest in Nashville where he will showcase at The High Watt on September 14.  More Tour Dates HERE.  Read more about AmericanaFest HERE.

Landry’s music has been called a “four-way intersection between Dylan-inspired folk-rock, atmospheric Americana, dusty cowboy songs and street busker ballads” by Rolling Stone, while NPR Music praised his songs as “sad, sweet, acoustical ruminations.”  Since departing Old Crow Medicine Show, he has made festival appearances in the US and UK and toured with Ben Harper, Justin Townes Earle, Warren Haynes and The Wood Brothers among others.

“Since making my last record, I destroyed all the pillars of my life intentionally and by accident. I found myself wondering what the hell I was doing, and had to slowly start rebuilding,” concludes Landry. “When you go back to the ground level in any field, with your toes in the dirt, you’ve got to really want to do it. I already came up through the clubs, playing all the small gigs, busking the streets, and also got the delusions of grandeur that come from playing in much bigger places. When you’ve been through it and you know how much work it is to start from the bottom, you have to ask yourself if it’s truly what you want. Here we are, so I guess the answer is yes.”

Here is the clip for “Berlin”:



‘Love Rides A Dark Horse’
Track Listing

1. Denver Girls
2. Bird In A Cage
3. Berlin
4. Broken Hearts & Things We’ll Never Know
5. The One Who Won The War
6. The Only Game In Town
7. Scripted Love
8. The Women You Are
9. The Real Deal Died


Read about Gill Landry’s upcoming album Love Rides A Dark Horse


(Visited 136 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply