Suzanne Santo Solo

Singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Suzanne Santo will release solo album

Suzanne Santo on stage at Bristol VA/TN

Singer-songwriter Suzanne Santo will release debut solo album Ruby Red

Singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Suzanne Santo will release her solo debut album Ruby Red on August 11 2017.

Best known as one-half of the Americana duo HONEYHONEY, Santo steps out on her own for the first time and, more than 10 years into her career, turns a new corner.  Her voice soars like fire and her stage presence is commanding.  Listening At The Lens saw HONEYHONEY in full flight last September.  Today, she released the lead single ‘Ghost In My Bed’.

“The common thread of the songs on this record have to do with accountability,” Santo told Rolling Stone. “‘Ghost In My Bed’ is an example of that and how sometimes we are, in fact, the ghost that haunts us. Writing this record reinstalled my responsibility to keep pushing forward, learning, growing and challenging the art in the way that serves it best.”

Produced by multi-platinum Grammy nominee Butch Walker, Ruby Red is reportedly a blend of pop-noir, soul music and Americana.  The eleven-song offering ranges from Southern-gothic anthems to slow-burning soul ballads to explosive rockers, all anchored around Santo’s amazing voice.

“I think I started writing songs for this record long before I realized that I was writing songs for this record,” continued Santo. “I’ve identified with a collaboration for so long that the thought of taking a leap into the depths of my own music, and having no idea what that would look like, definitely came as a shock. It was incredible to work with Butch. He facilitates a great time and an artistic environment that orbits solely around what’s best for the song, which is so rare in a business full of egos. It liberated and enabled me to work in a way that I never knew I was capable of.

Before they collaborated on Ruby Red, Santo made multiple appearances on Walker’s latest album Stay Gold.  She joined him on the road, too, singing harmonies and playing violin, guitar, and banjo during a nationwide tour in 2016.

Ruby Red Track List:

1. Handshake
2. Ghost In My Bed
3. The Wrong Man
4. Best Out Of Me
5. Regrets
6. Yours Or Mine
7. Love Fucked Up
8. Blood On Your Knees
9. Bullets
10. Better Than That
11. Regrets (Acoustic)

Singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Suzanne Santo will release solo album

Singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Suzanne Santo will release solo album


(Visited 320 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply