The Deslondes Newbie

The Deslondes are set to return with their second album Hurry Home


Photo Tamara Grayson


The Deslondes hail from New Orleans and demonstrate an inventive mix of r ‘n’ b/Americana.  This interesting collective are set to return with their second album Hurry Home, out on June 23 2017 via New West Records.

The thirteen-song set reportedly exhibits a more electrified sound, compared with their critically acclaimed 2014 eponymous debut.

For Hurry Home, the band split up songwriting and lead vocal duties among its five members, Sam Doores, Riley Downing, Dan Cutler, John James Tourville, and Cameron Snyder, continuing its democratic ethos and musical versatility.  As a taste of what is to come, you can watch the video, shot along the Mississippi River, for the album opener ‘Muddy Water’ which is written and sung by Downing.

Hurry Home will be available digitally, on compact disc, as well as LP.

Named after the street in the Holy Cross neighborhood of New Orleans where the band first came together, The Deslondes have continued to tour relentlessly since Doores and Cutler departed their roles in Hurray For The Riff Raff to focus entirely on the band.  The Deslondes met at New West Records’ studio and rehearsal space in Athens, Georgia and recorded everything for five days, working out new songs and arrangements.  With a batch of twenty new songs, they invited their longtime producer & engineer Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Benjamin Booker) to New Orleans to begin tracking that summer, creating a makeshift recording studio at The Tigermen Den in the Bywater neighborhood.  The album that emerged was Hurry Home.

“It’s a fitting title for this album because our lives and our songwriting revolve around leaving and returning, or searching for, home,” says the band.  “And home can be a physical place, a relationship, or a state of mind.”

Hurry Home Track Listing:
1. Muddy Water
2. One Of These Lonesome Mornings
3. (This Ain’t A) Sad Song
4. She Better Be Lonely
5. Every Well
6. Ribbon Creeks Collide
7. Hurry Home
8. Nelly
9. Hurricane Shakedown
10. Just In Love With You
11. Many Poor Boy
12. Beautiful Friend
13. Déjà Vu And A Blue Moon


The Deslondes are set to return with their second album Hurry Home

The Deslondes are set to return with their second album Hurry Home


(Visited 55 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply