Son Volt – Notes of Blue

read about the new Son Volt album Notes Of Blue released February 2017


Son Volt – Photo David McLister


Son Volt

To Issue New Release

Notes of Blue

February 17 2017


Acclaimed roots outfit Son Volt has announced the February 17 release of their new album Notes Of Blue via Thirty Tigers \ Cooking Vinyl Australia.

Led by the songwriting and vocals of Jay Farrar, Son Volt followed on from seminal alt. country band Uncle Tupelo.  As such, Farrar has been a key player in reinvigorating the alternative country movement of the 1990’s, which has since been subsumed within the ever-growing Americana genre banner.

The ten songs on Notes Of Blue are inspired by the spirit of the blues, but not the standard blues as most know it.  The influences of Mississippi Fred McDowell, Skip James and Nick Drake were all points of exploration for Farrar for the new collection.  The material resides in the folk tradition, but is heavily amplified and, on first listen, what is on offer is exhilarating.

Notes of Blue will be available on CD, Vinyl, Digital download & streaming.

You can pre-order Notes of Blue on CD & Vinyl.



Jay Farrar – Columbia Missouri – photo Rob Dickens



Album Information

Produced by Jay Farrar

Mixed by John Agnello

Mastered by Brad Sarno at Blue Jade Audio


Son Volt Line-Up

Jay Farrar: vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, organ

Jacob Edwards: drums, percussion

Mark Spencer: backing vocal, bass, weissenborn, piano

Garry Hunt: backing vocal, fiddle

Jason Kardong: pedal steel


Son Volt – Notes Of Blue Track List

1. Promise the World
2. Back Against the Wall
3. Static
4. Cherokee St
5. The Storm
6. Lost Souls
7. Midnight
8. Sinking Down
9. Cairo and Southern
10. Threads and Steel



read about the new Son Volt album Notes Of Blue released February 2017




(Visited 102 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply