Pieta Brown Sends Postcards

Discover the new album called Postcards from Pieta Brown

Pieta Brown – Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival – photo Rob Dickens

Pieta Brown

New Album



Acclaimed singer/songwriter Pieta Brown has announced her new album Postcards which is set to release on March 10 2017 via Lustre Records.  As a follow-up to 2014’s Paradise Outlaw, the new release explores the role of distance and isolation and features a collaboration with a guest performer on each track.

Most of the new songs were written in hotel rooms across the U.S. and deal with issues around touring – enjoying performing but being removed from connections to loved ones and other artists while in constant motion and dealing with travel logistics.  In order to keep in touch, Brown decided to send out “musical postcards” – stripped-down, acoustic shells of the new songs she’d written while traveling – to folks like Mark Knopfler, Calexico, Mason Jennings, David Lindley, Mike Lewis (Bon Iver), and Carrie Rodriguez among others.  Her instructions to each were simple: write back.

“Collaborating with other musicians and elevating a song beyond its outlines has become one of my favorite things about making music,” says Pieta. “I’m interested in what other people can bring to a song, especially musicians I admire. Music is very magnetic. I have been so drawn to and inspired by all the collaborators inside these postcards.”

Pieta Brown first came to attention with her 2002 self-titled debut.  Over the past six years, she has released three albums and three EPs with much attention being paid not only to her distinct sound and style, but also the power of her singing and songwriting.  Since releasing One and All (2010) and Mercury (2011) followed by Paradise Outlaw (which Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon called his “favorite recording made at our studio”), Brown has toured with Knopfler, John Prine, Amos Lee, Brandi Carlisle, JJ Cale, Ani Difranco, Mavis Staples, and Calexico among others.  She has also co-written songs with and made recent guest appearances on albums by Calexico, Lee and Iris Dement.

For a brief preview, check out the album trailer:

Track List:
1) In The Light (with Calexico)
2) Rosine (with Mike Lewis)
3) Once Again (with David Mansfield)
4) How Soon (with Mason Jennings)
5) Street Tracker (with Mark Knopfler)
6) Stopped My Horse (with Carrie Rodriguez)
7) Station Blues (with Chad Cromwell)
8) Take Me Home (with David Lindley)
9) On Your Way (with Eric Heywood & Caitlin Canty)
10) All The Roads (with The Pines)

Discover the new album called Postcards from Pieta Brown



(Visited 208 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad


Leave a Reply