Nikki Lane’s ‘Highway Queen’

Read about Highway Queen Nikki Lane’s new release




Nikki Lane will release her anticipated third album Highway Queen via New West Records on February 17 2017.

The ten-song set sees the young Nashville music and fashion rebel co-produce with fellow singer-songwriter Jonathan Tyler.  Recorded in Denton, Texas at Matt Pence’s Echo Lab Studio as well as Club Roar in Nashville, Tennessee with Collin Dupuis, Highway Queen features the Texas Gentlemen as her band and reportedly blends potent lyrics, unbridled blues guitars and vintage Sixties country-pop swagger.

The rather striking and interesting video for the album’s title track follows.  If you are alert you will see Australia’s own Ruby Boots sharing a frame or two.  The Chris Phelps-directed video also features appearances by Lane’s mother, father, and sister:

Highway Queen will be available digitally, on CD and vinyl and is available now for pre-order.

Her rapid rise is thanks to the critical acclaim of her debut record Walk of Shame and 2014’s Dan Auerbach-produced All of Nothin’.  (You can read my review of the latter).


Highway Queen begins with a whiskey-soaked homage to Lane’s hometown (‘700,000 Rednecks’) and ends on ‘Forever Lasts Forever’, where mourns a failed marriage – the “lighter shade of skin” left behind from her wedding ring.

“Love is the most unavoidable thing in the world,” Lane says.  “The person you pick could be half set-up to destroy your life with their own habits — I’ve certainly experienced that before and taken way too long to get out of that mistake.”

Lane, a Greenville, South Carolina native is also a fashion entrepreneur as the owner of the popular vintage clothing boutique High Class Hillbilly.

Highway Queen Track List:
1. 700,000 Rednecks
2. Highway Queen
3. Lay You Down
4. Jackpot
5. Companion
6. Big Mouth
7. Foolish Heart
8.  Send The Sun
9. Muddy Waters
10. Forever Lasts Forever


Lane performing at the 2015 Americana Awards – photo by Jim Jacob


Read about Highway Queen Nikki Lane’s new release

(Visited 104 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply