Americana Honors And Awards Nominees 2015

2015 Americana Music Association Awards Nominees Announced



Jason Isbell @ Bluesfest 2014 – Photo By Jim Jacob

Showcase on Americanafest 2015 #2


First Aid Kit – San Francisco 2013


Lucinda Williams @ City Winery Nashville 2014

DSC00829 Sturgill

Sturgill Simpson @ Ryman Auditorium Nashville 2014

DSC01984 Bela and Abigail

Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn – Raleigh NC 2014

Shovels@Rope and ShakeyGraves

Shovels & Rope with Shakey Graves Melbourne 2014

2015 Americana Music Association Honors & Awards Nominees Announced

Lucinda Williams, Shakey Graves and Sturgill Simpson Lead Nominations

The Americana Music Association announced today its nominations for the 2015 Americana Honors & Awards during a press conference held at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum’s Ford Theater.  Last year’s 2014 Americana Music Award for Duo/Group of the Year winners The Milk Carton Kids hosted the event and revealed the nominees of the six categories – Album, Artist, Duo/Group, Emerging Artist, Instrumentalist and Song.

The ceremony also featured stripped down, acoustic performances from The Milk Carton Kids, Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn, and John Hiatt preceding the nominees being revealed. Nikki Lane closed out the one-hour program.

Here is the full list of nominees.

2015 Americana Honors & Awards Nominees

Album of the Year (Award goes to Artist and Producer)
And The War Came – Shakey Graves; Produced by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Chris Boosahda
Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone – Lucinda Williams; Produced by Lucinda Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz
Metamodern Sounds In Country Music – Sturgill Simpson; Produced by Dave Cobb
The Way I’m Livin’ – Lee Ann Womack; Produced by Frank Liddell
Tomorrow Is My Turn – Rhiannon Giddens; Produced by T-Bone Burnett

Artist of the Year
Rhiannon Giddens
Jason Isbell
Sturgill Simpson
Lucinda Williams
Lee Ann Womack

Duo/Group of the Year
Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn
The Lone Bellow
The Mavericks
Punch Brothers
Shovels & Rope

Emerging Artist of the Year
First Aid Kit
Nikki Lane
Doug Seegers
Shakey Graves

Instrumentalist of the Year
Hubby Jenkins
Laur Joamets
Greg Leisz
John Leventhal
Stuart Mathis

Song of the Year (Award goes to Artist and Songwriter)
“Dearly Departed” – Shakey Graves; Written by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Esme’ Patterson
“East Side Of Town” – Lucinda Williams; Written by Lucinda Williams
“Terms Of My Surrender” – John Hiatt; Written by John Hiatt
“Turtles All The Way Down” – Sturgill Simpson; Written by Sturgill Simpson
“You’re The Best Lover That I Ever Had” – Steve Earle & the Dukes; Written by Steve Earle

The Americana Honors & Awards will be held at the wonderful ‘Mother Church of Country Music’ – The Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN on September 16, 2015 (during AmericanaFest – September 15-20, 2015).  Jim Lauderdale will once again host the Honors & Awards, while the incomparable Buddy Miller will lead the All-Star House Band. Described by Paste Magazine as “the world’s best awards show,” the Americana Honors & Awards have featured once-in-a-lifetime moments, unforgettable performances, and legendary collaborations.   Last year’s show was the best night’s music I can remember and I am very happy to be going back to Nashville for the whole Americanafest in 2015.

Tickets to the Honors & Awards show are only available with the purchase of an Americana Music Festival & Conference registration.


2015 Americana Music Association Awards Nominees Announced


(Visited 51 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply