Richard Thompson – New Album – Still

Read about the new album from Richard Thompson – ‘Still’

richard thompson and jeff tweedy

Thompson and Tweedy

 Richard Thompson’s New Album Is Still

Produced By Jeff Tweedy of Wilco

Out June 2015

Renowned guitarist and songwriter Richard Thompson is set to release Still, an album of new music, produced by Jeff Tweedy on June 23 via Concord Records in the U.S. and June 29 via Proper Records internationally.  Still will be available in several configurations including a twelve-track CD, a twelve-track double 180-gram vinyl album and a deluxe CD package that includes the five song Variations EP, from a previously unreleased session.

Still was recorded in a two-story rehearsal loft in Chicago over the course of just nine days with Wilco’s Tweedy at the helm, backed by several longtime players from both Thompson’s and Tweedy’s bands.  Thompson enlisted Tweedy’s production skills in an effort to shake up his own creative approach to making records.  “It turned out to be really good idea,” says Thompson.  “Jeff is musically very sympathetic.  Although some of his contributions are probably rather subtle to the listener’s ear, they were really interesting and his suggestions were always very pertinent.”

“Richard’s been one of my favourite guitar players for a very long time,” adds Tweedy.  “When I think about it, he’s also one of my favorite songwriters and favorite singers.  He’s the Ultimate Triple Threat.  Getting to work closely with him on this record was a truly rewarding experience, not to mention a great thrill.   And he keeps alive my streak of working exclusively with artists who make me look good as a producer.”

Taken as a whole, Still is a dispatch from an acknowledged master who remains unafraid to put himself into demanding new environments – its title reflecting that resilience and seemingly endless resourcefulness.  “Or,” Thompson adds slyly, “it could be read as ‘Is he still performing? I thought he died years ago.”

The album’s first single, “Beatnik Waiting” is available via Aquarium Drunkard.

richard thompson still



1. She Never Could Resist A Winding Road
2. Beatnik Walking
3. Patty Don’t You Put Me Down
4. Broken Doll
5. All Buttoned Up
6. Josephine
7. Long John Silver
8. Pony In The Stable
9. Where’s Your Heart
10. No Peace No End
11. Dungeons For Eyes
12. Guitar Heroes


Read about the new album from Richard Thompson – ‘Still’


(Visited 83 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply