Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield and Elliott Smith

Read about the new Elliott Smith project to be released this MarchSeth Avett & Jessica Rae Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith Project


Read about the new Elliott Smith project to be released this March

Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith, to be released on March 16 2015 (Ramseur Records/Thirty Tigers), is a project between two friends and, as is true with any covers-based album of quality, comes from a place of true admiration.  The album, produced by Avett and recorded over the last three years at Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, North Carolina as well as at Avett’s and Mayfield’s homes, covers twelve Elliott Smith songs:

1. Between the Bars
2. Baby Britain
3. Fond Farewell
4. Somebody That I Used to Know
5. Let’s Get Lost
6. Twilight
7. Ballad of Big Nothing
8. Angel in the Snow
10. Angeles
11. Roman Candle
12. Memory Lane

Both Avett and Mayfield are currently known for their contributions to the indie folk rock landscape.  Avett as a key player in the festival head-liner The Avett Brothers while Mayfield has released already four albums of emotional depth and strong songwriting.  The recordings are, in many cases, defined by bare instrumentation, driven by a simple vocal delivery and a depth of feeling complementing the intensity of the songs of Elliott Smith (1969 to 2003).

This album is clearly a labour of love, a comment based on the genuine reverence which Avett and Mayfield hold for Smith.  At times, the songs feel light as a feather, while in others, there’s a heart-aching profundity.  The duo will tour behind the album later this year.

If you are a fan of The Avett Brothers, or Jessica Lea Mayfield, or indeed Elliott Smith, you should check this new release out.

Here’s a promo video for the album



Read about the new Elliott Smith project to be released this March


(Visited 243 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply