Steve Earle Has The Terraplane Blues

Read about the new blues album from Steve Earle ‘Terraplane’


FEBRUARY 20 2015


Steve Earle & The Dukes are set to release the new album Terraplane on February 20 2015 via New West Records / Warner Music Australia.

The eleven-track set is the follow-up to the 2013 album The Low Highway and features Earle’s longtime band The Dukes, comprised of Kelly Looney, Will Rigby, Chris Masterson and Eleanor Whitmore (the latter two of The Mastersons).  The album was produced by R.S. Field (Buddy Guy, John Mayall), engineered by Earle’s longtime production partner Ray Kennedy and recorded at House of Blues Studio D in Nashville, TN.

Terraplane will be available in four formats: Single CD, Deluxe CD/DVD, Digitally and 180g vinyl.  The deluxe version will include

  • 24-bit high-resolution audio of the album
  • a long-form interview between Earle and acclaimed journalist Mark Jacobson
  • 3 live, acoustic songs filmed on the porch of House of Blues Studio D, and
  • a behind-the-scenes short film about the making of the album.

A stream of the song “You’re The Best Lover That I Ever Had” can be heard here.


Terraplane takes its title from the 1930’s Hudson Motor Car Company of Detroit model, which also inspired the Robert Johnson song “Terraplane Blues.”

It is Steve Earle’s sixteenth studio album since the release of his highly influential 1986 debut Guitar Town.  As its title suggests, the new release is very much a blues record, a third of which was written while Earle toured Europe alone for five weeks with just a guitar, a mandolin and a backpack.  Earle, who was raised outside of San Antonio before migrating to Houston, offers about Texas blues, “There was Fort Worth where the model was Freddy King, and there was the Houston scene which was dominated by Lightnin’ Hopkins.  Two very different styles.”

He saw both of these giants, and was also exposed to Johnny Winter, Jimmy and Stevie Ray Vaughn, and Billy Gibbons, all of which make their influence heard here within Earle’s masterful storytelling.


Earle with Kelly Looney of The Dukes, Byron Bay’s Bluesfest 2014 – Photo By Jim Jacob

Earle states in the Terraplane liner notes, “…the blues are anything but superficial.  In fact, they run so deep and dark and close to the bone that folks walk around everyday with the blues as though it were perfectly natural for a human being to go on living with a broken heart (apologies to Tony Kushner).”  He continues, “For my part, I’ve only ever believed two things about the blues: one, that they are very democratic, the commonest of human experience, perhaps the only thing that we all truly share and two, that one day, when it was time, I would make this record.”

A protégé of legendary songwriters Townes Van Zandt and Guy Clark, Steve Earle quickly became a master storyteller in his own right, with his songs being recorded by Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Emmylou Harris, Waylon Jennings, Travis Tritt, The Pretenders, Joan Baez and countless others.  The year 1986 saw the release of his debut record, Guitar Town, which shot to number one on the country charts.

What followed was a varied array of releases including the biting hard rock of Copperhead Road (1988), the minimalist beauty of Train A Comin’ (1995), the politically charged masterpiece, Jerusalem (2002) and the Grammy Award Winning albums The Revolution Starts…Now (2004), Washington Square Serenade (2007) and Townes (2009).  2011 saw the release of Earle’s critically acclaimed debut novel, I’ll Never Get Out Of This World Alive.


Earle and The Dukes, Byron Bay’s Bluesfest 2014 – Photo By Jim Jacob

Next year will also see the publication of Earle’s memoir I Can’t Remember If We Said Goodbye, published by Grand Central Publishing/Hachette Book Group.  Earle has been a featured actor on the HBO Original Series The Wire and Treme, and also appears in the upcoming films The World Made Straight and Dixieland.  He can be seen in many episodes of the Foo Fighters HBO Original Series Sonic Highways and also co-wrote the title track with Marianne Faithfull for her new studio album Give My Love To London.

Steve Earle & The Dukes – Terraplane Track Listing:

1. Baby Baby Baby (Baby)
2. You’re The Best Lover That I Ever Had
3. The Tennessee Kid
4. Ain’t Nobody’s Daddy Now
5. Better Off Alone
6. The Usual Time
7. Go Go Boots Are Back
8. Acquainted With The Wind
9. Baby’s Just As Mean As Me
10. Gamblin’ Blues
11. King Of The Blues

Steve Earle & The Dukes – Terraplane will be released on February 20 2015 via New West Records \ Warner Music Australia.


Read about the new blues album from Steve Earle ‘Terraplane’


(Visited 99 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply