Dead Man’s Town – Bruce Springsteen “Born In The USA” Tribute

Read about the Born In The USA Bruce Springsteen Tribute



Dead Man’s Town: A Tribute to Born in the U.S.A


Dead Man’s Town strips Bruce Springsteen’s Born In The U.S.A to the core with contributions from Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires, Nicole Atkins, Justin Townes Earle, North Mississippi Allstars, Blitzen Trapper, Trampled By Turtles and more.

This year marks the thirtieth anniversary of Bruce Springsteen’s Born In The U.S.A.  Although it would become his biggest selling album with seven top ten singles on the Billboard Hot 100, Luther Dickinson of North Mississippi Allstars says “any of those songs could be played with acoustic guitar alone and still be great.”

Taking this idea as its premise, Dead Man’s Town: A Tribute to Born in the U.S.A (out 16 September 2014 on Lightning Rod Records) strips the album’s twelve indelible originals to the core, with contributions from some fine performers who are at the top of their game now.   Rolling premiered Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires’ Dave Cobb-produced cover of “Born In The U.S.A,” saying these artists are “reimagining Born in the U.S.A with a reduced approach, more influenced by that of the acoustic Nebraska” Listen here.



Isbell says of his cover, “”Born In The U.S.A.” is one of my favorites because so many people have seemingly misunderstood the lyrical content and the song’s overall tone.  When you listen to the demo, the dark, minor key arrangement makes it clear that this is not strictly a song of celebration.  We wanted to stay true to that version.”  Amanda Shires adds, “I love that the song paints a picture of struggle in the face of the American dream, and the irony in the chorus is delivered with such force that it nearly transcends irony altogether.”

Dead Man’s Town: A Tribute to Born in the U.S.A was co-executive produced by Logan Rogers and Evan Schlansky.  Dave Cobb – whose credits include Sturgill Simpson’s Metamodern Sounds in Country Music and Jason Isbell’s Southeastern – produced the contributions by Apache Relay (“Cover Me”) and Holly Williams (“No Surrender”).  Highlights range from Low’s spectral take on “I’m On Fire,” and Nicole Atkins’ ethereal “Dancing in the Dark,” to Justin Townes Earle’s soulful, rootsy “Glory Days” and the swampy, sax-laden rock of Joe Pug’s “Downbound Train”.


Dead Man’s Town: A Tribute to Born in the U.S.A Tracklist:
1) “Born In The U.S.A” – Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires
2) “Cover Me” – Apache Relay
3) “Darlington County” – Quaker City Nighthawks
4) “Working On The Highway” – Blitzen Trapper
5) “Downbound Train” – Joe Pug
6) “I’m On Fire” – Low
7) “No Surrender” – Holly Williams
8) “Bobby Jean” – Ryan Culwell
9) “I’m Goin’ Down” – Trampled By Turtles
10) “Glory Days” – Justin Townes Earle
11) “Dancing In The Dark” – Nicole Atkins
12) “My Hometown” – North Mississippi Allstars



My Program from the Born In The USA Tour of Australia, April 1985 – My, what a time that was!


Read about the Born In The USA Bruce Springsteen Tribute




(Visited 77 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: