Drive-By Truckers – New Album – English Oceans

Read about the Drive-by Truckers’ new release ‘English Oceans



Drive-By Truckers to Release English Oceans on March 4


Drive-By Truckers will be releasing a new album English Oceans March 4, 2014 on ATO Records.  Rolling Stone magazine, on releasing the news, called it a “return to simplicity.”

English Oceans will be the band’s twelfth release.  “It can go from this chainsaw rock ‘n’ roll to this very delicate, pretty-sounding stuff,” says guitarist/singer Mike Cooley.

English Oceans was recorded over thirteen days at Chase Park Transduction Studios in Athens, GA with their longtime producer, David Barbe.  Cooley fans will be happy that he brought six new songs to the sessions and this record marks the first time that Cooley sings a song penned by Patterson Hood on “Til He’s Dead or Rises.”

The new album will contain songs filled with an interesting array of characters.  “Pauline Hawkins” is based on a new novel by Willy Vlautin.  DBT’s ever-keen political edge can be seen in two songs on the record – Cooley’s “Made Up English Oceans” and Hood’s “The Part of Him.”  “It’s about political assholery — there’s someone new playing that role every few months,” says Hood.  “Grand Canyon,” the final song on the album, is an emotionally overwhelming tribute to Craig Lieske, a longtime member of DBT’s touring family.  Lieske died suddenly in January and the album is dedicated to him.

The album was recorded with a compact, retooled lineup.  Jay Gonzalez, who joined the band in 2008 as keyboardist, has added guitar to his duties, while bassist Matt Patton was drafted from the Tuscaloosa group The Dexateens.  “It’s a very tasteful group, and when it needs to be it can be a very big, powerful, over-the-top band, too, and it can go from one to the other seamlessly” says Hood.

English Oceans Track List

1. Shit Shots Count
2. When He’s Gone
3. Primer Coat
4. Pauline Hawkins
5. Made Up English Oceans
6. The Part of Him
7. Hearing Jimmy Loud
8. Til He’s Dead or Rising
9. Hanging On
10. Natural Light
11. When Walter Went Crazy
12. First Air of Autumn
13. Grand Canyon



Read about the Drive-by Truckers’ new release ‘English Oceans


(Visited 42 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply