Patty Griffin – Silver Bell – Finally

Read about the long-awaited official release Patty Griffin’s ‘Silver Bell’


The silver bell will be ringing at last.

An all-original collection of songs was recorded by the remarkable Patty Griffin in 2000.  The music spent about thirteen years in catalogue limbo, due in large part to a change in ownership at record label A&M and the fact that the Dixie Chicks successfully covered two of the tracks on their 2002 album Home – “Top of the World” and “Truth #2″.  (Natalie Maines kept up the homage, covering “Silver Bell” on her recent solo debut).

Given the technology to store, access and distribute music these days, bootleg versions of the material from the 2000 sessions has been around for a few years now.  I have heard the original group of songs and have been incredulously gob-smacked they had not found a release.  Being an avid Patty fan, I can attest to the quality of the material, which sits very well with the remainder of the impressive body of work from this special performer.

With the Internet, accessing officially unreleased music – bootlegs, live versions, covers of all kinds – is significantly easier than it once was.  However, for me it’s not quite the same as the polish of a formally mixed and produced album, complete with its packaging, artwork and liner notes, particularly when considering a musician of the standing of Patty Griffin.

So, excellent news is upon us.  Silver Bell is be officially released on October 8 through Universal Music.   The material has been newly mixed by legendary producer Glyn Johns (The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, Led Zeppelin to name a few!).

The fourteen song collection was recorded at Daniel Lanois’ Kingsway Studio with help from Doug Lancio on guitar, John Deaderick playing keys and Frank Swart handling bass.  Emmylou Harris adds harmonies on “Truth #2.”

Silver Bell was intended to be a follow-up to 1998’s Flaming Red and there have been five more Griffin albums including the Grammy-winning Downtown Church and her most recent American Kid, released this May (and reviewed on this site).

Track Listing:

1. Little God
2. Truth#2
3. Boston
4. Perfect White Girls
5. Sooner or Later
6. What you Are
7. Silver Bell
8. Fragile
9. Mother of God
10. One More Girl
11. Sorry and Sad
12. Driving
13. Top of the World
14. So Long


Read about the long-awaited official release Patty Griffin’s ‘Silver Bell’

Read about the long-awaited official release Patty Griffin’s ‘Silver Bell’


(Visited 156 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply