Believe in the Jon Stickley Trio

Jon Stickley Trio. Photo by Heather Hambor

Asheville’s Jon Stickley Trio

Provides Us With a Dazzling and Energetic

New Record – Maybe Believe

Make no mistake, Asheville North Carolina is one of the great music cities in the USA.

The mountain landscape and the traditions make for a vibrant and wonderfully diverse scene.  The number of roots festivals in the city and surrounding regions are but one measure of the deep vein of music culture that lies within the natural beauty of the area.

One of the city’s many captivating outfits, the Jon Stickley Trio, independently released their third full length album Maybe Believe on May 12 2017.  The trio comprises Stickley’s rapid-fire guitar fluency with refined melodies from violinist Lyndsay Pruett and the deepest groove from Patrick Armitage on drums. Together it is an instrumental workshop of delicacy and passion rolled seamlessly together – a gumbo of styles and virtuosity.

Maybe Believe was produced by Dave King (of The Bad Plus) at Echo Mountain Recording Studio in the band’s hometown.  Find out more about the new release in this behind-the-scenes teaser video with the band, recorded at Echo Mountain during their recording sessions.

 

 

“The latest record from the Jon Stickley Trio flexes new and strong muscles, utilizing more progressive structures and deeper pockets than ever before,” says producer King. “All the while, the group retains its place as a modern-thinking acoustic ensemble with one foot in tradition and the other in a bluegrass honored future that allows for the avant garde, punk, and be bop to mix in freely and tastefully.”

 


Jon Stickley Trio Maybe Believe Tour

May 26 Fri – Rooster Walk – Martinsville, VA

May 27 Sat – Big Wesser BBZ at Nantahala Outdoor Center – Bryson City, NC

June 8 Thu – Founders Brewing Co – Grand Rapids, MI

June 9 Fri – Parliament Room at Otus Supply – Ferndale, MI

June 10-11 Sat-Sun – NorEastr Festival @ County Fairgrounds – Mio, MI

June 12 Mon – WNMC House Concert Series @ The Moon Tower – Traverse City, MI

June 14 Wed – B Side Ballroom – Oneonta, NY

June 15 Thu – Abilene Bar – Rochester, NY

June 17 Sat – Skunk Funk Music Festival – Cazenovia, NY

June 18 Sun – Gypsy Sally’s – Washington DC

June 19 Mon – Metro Gallery – Baltimore, MD

June 20 Tue – Motorco Music Hall – Durham, NC

June 21 Wed – Muddy Creek Music Hall – Winston-Salem, NC

June 22 Thu – River Jam at US Whitewater Center – Charlotte, NC

June 23-24 Fri-Sat – Clusterpluck @ Spirit of Suwannee Music Park – Live Oak, FL

July 7-8 Fri-Sat – Breckenridge Brewery – Littleton, CO

July 15 Sat – Red Wing Roots Music Festival – Mount Solon, VA

July 22 Sat – Burning Can @ Oskar Blues – Brevard, NC

July 29-30 Sat-Sun – FloydFest – Floyd, VA

August 2 Wed – The High Watt – Nashville, TN

August 3 Thu – Hi Tone – Memphis, TN

August 4 Fri – Homegrown on the River – Ozark, AR

August 6 Sun – Rhythms on the Rio – South Fork, CO

August 9 Wed – The Bishop – Bloomington, IN

August 10 Thu – Woodlands Tavern – Columbus, OH

August 11 Fri – Bright Box Theater – Winchester, VA

August 12 Sat – Musikfest – Bethlehem, PA

August 16 Wed – The Ark – Ann Arbor, MI

August 18 Fri – Ignition Music Garage – Goshen, IN

August 19 Sat – Short’s Brewing Co – Bellaire, MI

August 20 Sun – Hoxyville Music Festival – Wellston, MI

September 5-10 Fri-Sun – Sisters Folk Fest – Sisters, OR

September 14 Thu – World Cafe Live – Philadelphia, PA

September 17 Sun – The Knitting Factory – New York, NY

 

Via Dreamspider Publicity

 

***

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.