Jodi Martin’s Saltwater

Read our review of the album Saltwater by Jodi Martin

There is a lot to like in Jodi Martin‘s Saltwater.

It was produced by classy roots performer Shane Nicholson who has proven many times to be a talented ally in the studio (Kasey ChambersCatherine Britt, Josh Rennie-Hynes and Oh Pep, to name a few).

All thirteen songs here are telling originals, with three co-written with folk journeyman Arlo Guthrie (son of Woody) and one with noted musician/producer Jeff Lang.

Martin’s rich vocals and attractive home-spun lyrics and sensibilities are a treat, and the album is beautifully packaged.

This is in fact the extended version of a 2014 album which has (thankfully) been given a wider release (via MGM) with three quality bonus tracks.

Martin is out of Ceduna, the coastal desert region of South Australia and has been performing on the road for many years.  Now she is touring again, kicking off a three-month national tour with her sister Robyn, through to November 2016 and covering a hell of a lot of terrain.

Guthrie calls her “authentically Australian” and The Waifs’ Josh Cunningham calls Saltwater an “indie folk masterpiece”.

‘Saltwater In My Hair’ is a warm introduction, joyful and earthy with a telling chord change, while ‘Diesel’ is a jaunty insight into familiar people and places.  ‘Irreplaceable’ is slow and delicate, with loving vocals.  ‘Criminal’ rails against threats to Mother Nature and ‘Peace to Keep’ has an engaging melody.  ‘Bar in Paris’ is a highlight, full of acute observations around local and other destinations which are highly evocative.  The three bonus tracks fit beautifully with what has preceded – ‘Magnetic North’ showcasing Martin’s beautiful vocals with the closing ‘Round The Corner providing a rousing, rockier conclusion.

Saltwater is a wonderful collection from an inspired and intelligent observer.

 

Here’s a clip of the title track:

 

 

Jodi Martin Tour Dates

For tickets, follow the link

Fri 12 Aug 2016 @ 8:00 PM Ceduna Memorial Hall, Ceduna SA

Wed 17 Aug 2016 @ 7:30 PM Wudinna Hall, Wudinna SA

Sat 20 Aug 2016 @ 8:00 PM Nautilus Arts Centre, Port Lincoln SA

Sun 21 Aug 2016 @ 4:00 PM The Wheatsheaf Hotel, SA

Sat 27 Aug 2016 @ 9:00 PM Albion Hotel, Albury NSW

Fri 02 Sep 2016 @ 8:00 PM Candelo Town Hall, Candelo NSW

Sat 03 Sep 2016 @ 7:00 PM Smith’s Alternative, Canberra ACT

Sun 04 Sep 2016 @ 3:00 PM Kiama Community Centre, Kiama NSW

Sat 10 Sep 2016 @ 8:00 PM Carrington Bowling Club, Carrington NSW

Sun 11 Sep 2016 @ 7:30 PM Camelot Lounge, Marrickville NSW

Wed 14 Sep 2016 @ 7:00 PM Latin Loafer, Port Macquarie NSW

Fri 16 Sep 2016 @ 8:00 PM Jetty Theatre, Coffs Harbour NSW

Sat 17 Sep 2016 @ 8:00 PM Bangalow Bowling Club, Banglow NSW

Thu 22 Sep 2016 @ 8:00 PM The Junk Bar, Ashgrove QLD

Fri 23 Sep 2016 @ 8:00 PM Irish Club Hotel, Toowoomba QLD

Sat 24 Sep 2016 @ 8:00 PM The Imperial Hotel (The Green Room), Eumundi QLD

Fri 30 Sep 2016 @ 8:00 PM , Thornbury Theatre, Thornbury VIC

Sun 02 Oct 2016 @ 2:00 PM , Sutton’s House of Music, Ballarat VIC

Fri 14 Oct 2016 @ 10:00 AM, Wingham Akoostik Festival, Wingham NSW

Fri 21 Oct 2016 @ 8:00 PM Darwin Railway Club, Darwin NT

Fri 28 Oct 2016 @ 10:00 AM , Maldon Folk Festival, Maldon VIC

Thu 03 Nov 2016 @ 8:30 PM , Republic Bar, Hobart TAS

Sun 06 Nov 2016 @ 4:00 PM Cally Hotel – ‘Women in Song’, Warrnambool VIC

 

 

Via Gaynor Crawford

***

(Visited 19 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On
468 ad

Leave a Reply