Hear Tom West Call

tomwest

 

Tom West Releases New Single – “The Call”

 

Tom West is a songwriter and finger picker.  At heart Tom West’s single “The Call” is a song about yearning; perhaps heeding a siren’s call, taking a plunge.  It’s an engaging song.

West will be heading out on an extensive Australian tour to promote ‘The Call’ with compatriot Todd Sibbin throughout August and September 2014.

After launching his album A Spark in the Dark in August 2013, the Adelaide-based songwriter spent the summer writing and composing, eventually returning to the studio this May to work on some of the material, including “The Call”.

On the last occasion, West recorded DIY in a shed in the Adelaide Hills.  This time around an invitation to work with acclaimed producer and musician, John Castle, led to a session in May at his Melbourne studios.  Over a week the pair built on West’s demos from the previous months, beginning with the new single.  Castle has worked with the likes of Washington, Josh Pyke, Vance Joy, Gossling, The Bamboos, among others.

Here’s a clip of “The Call”

 

 

 

TOUR DATES

Tuesday 12 August, Republic Bar, Hobart, TAS
Saturday 23 August, Crown & Anchor – Adelaide, SA
Sunday 24 August, Evelyn – Melbourne, VIC
Tuesday 26 August, Record Crate – Sydney, NSW
Thursday 28 August, The Lass O Gowrie – Newcastle, NSW
Saturday 30 August, The Aztec – Forster, NSW
Wednesday 3 Sept, Coast Hotel – Coffs Harbour, NSW
Thursday 4 Sept, The Treehouse – Byron Bay, NSW
Friday 5 Sept, The Loft – Gold Coast, QLD
Sunday 7 Sept, New Globe Theatre – Brisbane, QLD
Saturday 13 Sept, Secret Party – Adelaide, SA
Thursday 25 Sept, The Grace Emily – Adelaide, SA

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On

Leave a Reply