Lucinda Williams To Give Us Double Joy



Lucinda Williams is going to release a double album (her first ever), Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone on September 30.  This will be the follow-up to 2011′s Blessed andwill be released on her new label Highway 20 Records, via Thirty Tigers. 

Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone will have twenty songs including “Compassion,” based on a poem written by Williams’ father, acclaimed poet Miller Williams, and a cover of JJ Cale’s “Magnolia.”

Guest musicians include guitarists Bill Frisell, Tony Joe White, Faces keyboardist Ian McLagan, and Elvis Costello rhythm section members Pete Thomas (drums) and Davey Faragaher (bass), as well as Wallflowers guitarist Stuart Mathis (who has bee a regular member of William’s live band).  The Wallflowers’ Jakob Dylan sings harmony on “It’s Gonna Rain.” 


You can even help Lucinda choose which album cover to use here


Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone 

Track Listing:

Disc One:

Burning Bridges
East Side Of Town
West Memphis
Cold Day In Hell
Wrong Number
Stand Right By Each Other
It’s Gonna Rain

Disc Two:

Something Wicked This Way Comes
Big Mess
When I Look At The World
Walk On
Temporary Nature (Of Any Precious Thing)
Everything But The Truth
This Old Heartache
Stowaway In Your Heart
One More Day


(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Author: Rob Dickens

Share This Post On

Leave a Reply